Sign in to follow this  
FrinkiacVII

rule question regarding Preston Fairmont

Recommended Posts

Preston "The Millionaire" Fairmont has an ability that reads:

"Action: You and another investigator on your space may perform an Acquire Assets action and/or a Gather Resources action."

So for example, if Preston and Charlie Kane are on the same city space, I read this to mean that Preston may take a Gather Resources action followed by an Acquire Assets action, then Charlie may do the same.  Is this right?

separate points that I'm interested in:

1. BOTH investigators get to do BOTH actions.

2. When one of them does their actions, that investigator may do both actions in any order.  Then the other investigator does theirs in any order. 

3. The investigators may take their actions such that either Preston does his first, then Charlie, or Charlie does his two then Preston. 

4. After they've both done both actions, assuming this was Preston's first action on his turn, he still gets another action yet.

5. Doing the Acquire Assets and Gather Resources actions as part of Preston's ability DOES count as taking those actions for the round and as such prevents either investigator from doing such actions again this round the normal way.

6. The Acquire Assets action taken as part of Preston's ability, whether it's Preston doing it or anyone else,  is only a legal option if the investigator doing it is on a city space at the time.

 

Is all of that accurate?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, FrinkiacVII said:

Preston "The Millionaire" Fairmont has an ability that reads:

"Action: You and another investigator on your space may perform an Acquire Assets action and/or a Gather Resources action."

So for example, if Preston and Charlie Kane are on the same city space, I read this to mean that Preston may take a Gather Resources action followed by an Acquire Assets action, then Charlie may do the same.  Is this right?

separate points that I'm interested in:

1. BOTH investigators get to do BOTH actions.

2. When one of them does their actions, that investigator may do both actions in any order.  Then the other investigator does theirs in any order. 

3. The investigators may take their actions such that either Preston does his first, then Charlie, or Charlie does his two then Preston. 

4. After they've both done both actions, assuming this was Preston's first action on his turn, he still gets another action yet.

5. Doing the Acquire Assets and Gather Resources actions as part of Preston's ability DOES count as taking those actions for the round and as such prevents either investigator from doing such actions again this round the normal way.

6. The Acquire Assets action taken as part of Preston's ability, whether it's Preston doing it or anyone else,  is only a legal option if the investigator doing it is on a city space at the time.

 

Is all of that accurate?

 

I think you're right on most points except the part about getting 4 actions out of 1...   What it basically translates to is that Preston can do an acquire assets or gather resources action and another investigator can acquire assets or gather resources.  Each investigator gets one action. They can do it in any order.

the and/or is short hand for the above so that it doesn't mean that both have to do the same action. If the other investigator acquires asset, it doesn't mean Preston has to as well...

Edited by neosmagus

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

25 minutes ago, neosmagus said:

I think you're right on most points except the part about getting 4 actions out of 1...   What it basically translates to is that Preston can do an acquire assets or gather resources action and another investigator can acquire assets or gather resources.  Each investigator gets one action. They can do it in any order.

the and/or is short hand for the above so that it doesn't mean that both have to do the same action. If the other investigator acquires asset, it doesn't mean Preston has to as well...

I would read it as both investigators get to do both actions as well. If it was meant to be that each only got to do one of them, it would be worded differently. The and/or in sentence structure is separately referring to what each investigator is allowed to do. If you find an official ruling, I'll be happy to admit I'm wrong, but I don't think so.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From the rulebook FAQ:

Q. Can the actions granted by Preston Fairmont’s action ability be used in any order?
A. Yes. The actions granted by Preston’s action ability can be performed in any order, including allowing the other investigator to perform actions before or after Preston.

The use of the plural regarding the actions of the other investigator very specifically indicates that each investigator gets to do both actions. The reason it is and/or is because they may not be able to make use of said action or not want to for some reason. Given the abilities of other asset procuring characters and the actions involved this does not seem overpowered.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this