Sign in to follow this  
Kaiba6798

So I am new

I just kinda want to know what I am in for.

my history of games

pokemon, yugioh, magic, dbz (all but the newest version), heroclix, yu yu hakusho, weiss schwartz, and gwent.

I played 1 game of l5r a long time ago. probably 2010-ish. I mostly got a starter for the artwork.

Any assistance would be appreciated

Welcome!

Now sit down, strap yourself in, get ready to scream because this is gonna be the ride of your life!

Ok the game is not that intense but it will challenge you quite a bit more than the other games you mentioned.  The art is fantastic, imo.  

Throw that 1 game you played 8 years ago out the window.  I have 20 years experience with the the old game and it doesn't count for squat in the new game.

Just enjoy it and when you're ready to step up to competitive play you'll have plenty of people waiting to give you a great experience.

7 hours ago, Kaiba6798 said:

I just kinda want to know what I am in for.

my history of games

pokemon, yugioh, magic, dbz (all but the newest version), heroclix, yu yu hakusho, weiss schwartz, and gwent.

I played 1 game of l5r a long time ago. probably 2010-ish. I mostly got a starter for the artwork.

Any assistance would be appreciated

The games you mention are all designed to fit into 15-20 min breaks and are therefore very explosive. L5R on the other hand is designed to be a 55 min struggle for advantages through a lot of decisions that reward deep knowledge of the cardpool and analysis paralysis to maximise your win chances in the given matchup.

To be clear - the game you picked up in 2010 is no longer in print. The first version of L5R, the CCG, was in print for 20 years, but the brand was sold to FFG in 2015. They went back to the drawing board and came up with an excellent, modern game that very much captures the spirit and setting of the original game, but the two are not compatible in any way.

Edited by Hinomura