ImperialOfficer

Regional Etiquette

So without sounding too salty I have a general question about something that happened today. 

I’ve been playing xwing and IA for a couple years now, played 3 or 4 xwing regionals and today was my 3rd IA regional. 

In all of these different tournaments I’ve never seen someone intentionally concede a match to their friend in order to help their record. 

The player was 2-0, and forfeited, dropping his strength of schedule for both of the two that he beat (questionably). 

In round 5, I played this person.  I beat them and made it to 3-2. 

My losses were to someone who went 5-1 and another person who went 4-1, both were quality losses. 

I got 9th and missed the cut by .04. 

The person kept repeating it’s in the rules. I’m not technically challenging whether or not it’s in the rules, but is his something that is common? 

its not like it was round 5, between two players who were both undefeated. 

This was round 3 of 5. 

Thanks for any input, just curious about this type of behavior. 

I wouldn’t want that to happen to me. Sorry that happened to you. I guess it’s a bit of the negative side of the gamesmanship that comes along with organized “competitive play.” I can’t say I’ve never used a bye, but in general I don’t like them. I think everyone should have to play the same amount of games. Seems like the spirit of the option to concede is to have something established in case a player absolutely has to leave mid-game or if it’s completely out of reach and someone has just has enough. 

Refer to the tournament document under the heading "Unsporting Conduct".

Collusion among players to manipulate scoring is expressly forbidden.

The organizer, at his or her sole discretion, may remove players from the tournament for unsporting conduct.