Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Matrim

Cloud the Mind, Yokuni

Recommended Posts

Page 3 of the rule book under blank treats the card as if it has no printed text. If we are effecting said card as if it had no printed text, then there is no printed text to copy. While 'printed' does refer to the text on the actual card, as stated, in this case we are instructed to treat it as if it were blank.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"The word printed refers to the text, characteristic, icon, or value that is physically printed on the card." Nothing can change that. What blanking means is that any effect that looks for the text of a blanked card does not find its printed text.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 hours ago, Darksyde said:

That would seem to contradict the rule book. Worth checking with your event judge.

As it is a developer ruling should override an event judges ruling.  The logic was while the card is treated as blank for the purposes of activating its own abilities the ability is still physically present on the card for other cards to interact with.  It is also the logic for why Yokuni can't copy an ability gained from another card ability (like Duelist Training) which grants the ability to the attached card but is not technically printed on them so can't be copied.

http://www.cardgamedb.com/forums/index.php?/topic/37123-togashi-yokuni-cloud-the-mind/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
40 minutes ago, Schmoozies said:

It is also the logic for why Yokuni can't copy an ability gained from another card ability (like Duelist Training) which grants the ability to the attached card but is not technically printed on them so can't be copied.
 

Not that it matters a lick but if duelist training read 'treat the following action as though it were printed on the character' then he could copy it as the rules appear to be written. Same as blank means he can't. shrug. I'm not a judge, and I'm not 'official' but that is what I get from the rules. Not trying to argue and I'd respect the ruling either way at an event.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...