Jump to content
Maim Voorhees

Running interference action question

Recommended Posts

Ok, last one for quite a while lol.  On the card provided, there are six “actions”, one being “play a card from your hand”, when using RI combined with Sabine can you use RI and an ambiguous action block like “Can’t play a card”?  Or do you have to chose an action off of the list of six?  Reason I ask, Sabine gets to play a weapon from the discard pile, and if I use RI and say you cannot play a card, that prevents the opponent from playing one from their hand and discard pile. Is that legal, or can I only prevent the playing of a card from their hand?  Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

RI only works on the initial action taken, not on any effects generated by the action.

So if you activate Sabine, and use her before trigger to play a card from the discard pile. The action you took is Activate a character or support. You did not perform the play a card from hand action, as that was a triggered effect. (edit: so this means you cannot use RI to block the play a card from hand action)

This also means, if you played running interference on playing a card from hand. The Sabine player would be able to activate her character and still use her before trigger to play a weapon from the discard pile because she took the Activate a character or support action. She did not take the play a card from hand action.

Edited by Lusiphur05

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Same goes for Fast Hands

The action was activate the character. There was no action to resolve a die.

On a similar token, RI only stops the actual action so if you have a different action that tells you to do it anyway (such as Hit and Run, the action was to play a card despite the card telling you to activate a character). The look on my friends face when i did that on my Aayla/2Clone deck was comical.

The only way you could have RI block multiple actions is if you yourself had multiple actions, not 1 action that does multiple things. I.e. if you activated Sabine and played an Ambush weapon on her, you could RI activating a character then RI whatever your ambush action was (resolve a die, play a card, use an ability on a character/upgrade/support in play, discard a card, or claim the battlefield...though that last one is redundant)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...