Jump to content
Maim Voorhees

Resolving dice and second chance

Recommended Posts

Ok, perhaps I’m still a noob, but if you have a character with SC on, and sitting at 6 damage on 10 health and the other guy rolls 2, 2, +2, +3.  All ranged.  Can I resolve in 2 waves?  Like a 2 and +2 to activate the SC and then the 2 and +3 to finish them off?  Would that be one or two actions?  Or do you resolve all at once and kill the character over the SC?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, GooeyChewie said:

When you take the resolve dice action, you resolve dice one at a time, with the exception of modifiers, in an order of your choice.  So you can absolutely do 4, let Second Chance trigger, then do 5 more.

Ok good.  I wanted to make sure I was doing it correctly.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Going further, note that you always do this, although there is sometimes no noticeable difference when you do.  You do not have the option to stack normal damage (black) dice, so you can't for example limit Count Dooku's ability to take a shield by stacking all your damage (black) dice into one salvo. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If I have 4 cards I would block the first damage and have my opponent used the 5 damage to get rid of Second Chance as this saves me a card and leaves me on 5 health.

For the most part Second Chance triggers when the attached character is defeated and Force Illusion triggers when you take damage. However, Force Illusion only works if you have the correct number of cards to discard.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, Lobokai said:

So with force illusion, how that resolve with the OP question? 

As Amanal states, Force Illusion is only effective if you can discard cards equal to the full damage being blocked.  If you don't have the full number, you lose the cards AND take the full damage (assuming you forget to check your deck ahead of time and commit to using Force Illusion, and you're playing competitively or your opponent won't let you "take it back")

So in the above situation, if you only have 4 cards left to draw, you'd only be able to block 4 damage at most with FI.  If you have 5 or more cards left to draw, you can block 2, 4, or 5 damage (or up to 7 if you have 7+ cards and your opponent decides to deal 2+2+3 in one go.

Assuming cards are no issue, the best play from above is to deal 2+2 initially, forcing them to either use Second Chance or Force Illusion, then deal the 2+3 after.  It will depend on how much you think your opponent values that 5th potential lost card.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Due to the rule where you resolve dice one at a time (except modifiers) its pretty easy to overpower Second Chance, just gotta be mindful of which dice you send out first. Though usually its when theyre at like 1hp, not 6 remaining, as if you "overkill" them before Second Chance goes off you wasted a lot of damage (i.e. you hit them with a 2+3+3, causing 8 damage. They "die" but second chance kicks in healing 5 damage, the remaining 2 damage is lost in this scenario)
Usually to speed things up you just resolve all dice simo, but like mentioned here there are numerous rules where you need to keep them separate and indicate which is being done first. Force Illusion is a big one, lot of people try to use it to block the entire 2, 2, 2+1, 3 attack rather than just the 2+1 or the 3 in my experience thus far. Actually had one guy explain it was a useless card if it worked that way...no trust me it is far from useless because its pretty easy to get slammed with 7+ damage in a single die resolve due to all the modifiers (+4 modifiers are more common than just flat 4 damage)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On ‎3‎/‎12‎/‎2018 at 11:15 PM, Mep said:

You reroll it generally.

I know in x-wing, it states in the rules that cocked dice are rerolled. but I was surprised to not find a similar rule in Destiny. I only ask due to a player refusing to reroll due to it not being in the rules.

Edited by PanchoX1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, PanchoX1 said:

I know in x-wing, it states in the rules that cocked dice are rerolled. but I was surprised to not find a similar rule in Destiny. I only ask due to a player refusing to reroll due to it not being in the rules.

Well if it is 90% on one side, sure. The important thing is to be consistent. Destiny dices are bigger and heavier and don't get caught up on debris, so it shouldn't be as much an issue. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, PanchoX1 said:

I only ask due to a player refusing to reroll due to it not being in the rules.

How "cocked" are we talking here?

I have one particularly irritating memory of a bloke asking me to reroll a die that was resting between my playmat and the table - it was in no way cocked and I could easily rest another die on top of it.

Interestingly he only asked me to do it at a key moment in the game where the die in question was showing big damage that he was unable to mitigate. 

 

These are big, heavy dice, it's generally pretty obvious which side is facing up.  That said, if it was truly cocked then your opponent was being a jeb-end.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...