4 hours ago, Alpha17 said:

I'm a full-time student going to school on the GI Bill, and my original enlistment bonus.  I also work full time during the summer at a National Historic site.  Don't have ton of money for plastic ships, but thankfully they're relatively cheap. 

GI Bill? Forgive my ignorance, what is that?

11 hours ago, Alpha17 said:

I'm a full-time student going to school on the GI Bill, and my original enlistment bonus.  I also work full time during the summer at a National Historic site.  Don't have ton of money for plastic ships, but thankfully they're relatively cheap. 

What NHS (if you don't mind saying)? I used to work at a couple in Canada--Fort George and Brock's Monument (Niagara).

7 hours ago, Arma Quattro said:

Montgomery or Post-9-11 GI Bills refer to an American program to pay education costs for members and qualifying veterans of the US armed forces. 

Edited by jmswood

8 hours ago, Arma Quattro said:

As said above, it's a benefit provided to veterans that helps cover the cost of schooling in the US. 

1 hour ago, TheHumanHydra said:

What NHS (if you don't mind saying)? I used to work at a couple in Canada--Fort George and Brock's Monument (Niagara).

Very nice.  I work at Fort Scott, KS, an 1840s-through-American Civil War US Army post.  

8 hours ago, jmswood said:

I’m an electricician currently maintaining lighthouses on the central California coast. 

This is the supposedly a transcript of an actual radio conversation between a US naval ship and Canadian authorities off the coast of Newfoundland in October 1995.  The Radio conversation was released by the Chief of Naval Operations on Oct. 10, 1995.

US Ship:  Please divert your course 0.5 degrees to the south to avoid a collision.

CND reply: Recommend you divert your course 15 degrees to the South to avoid a collision.

US Ship: This is the Captain of a US Navy Carrier,   I say again, divert your course!

CND reply:  No.  We say again, you divert YOUR course!