Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Hos

Maneuvering question, does it fit?

Recommended Posts

I don't play Runewars as often as I'd like, and I'm not 100% on the rules which frustrates me if an attempted maneuver fails because of my misunderstanding.

Question, I have single rank unit nudged right up behind another single rank unit, will a one move forward with the back rank clear the front unit or will the nubs prevent it? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Assuming that both units are friendly and that by "nudged right up" you mean the rear unit is touching the front unit and that they are both "parallel", then I believe the answer would be yes.

The trays are a length of one, and that would put the rear unit in front of the other unit, "nudged right up" at the back now, instead of the front.

Technically it may be slightly longer than one if measured due to the fact that the trays of the two units are not connected together, but I think a precedent is set under the closing in section of the rules:

Closing In 17.1:

  • The straight, speed-1 movement template moves a unit the distance of the width of a single tray. When a unit
    is closing in to ll the gap left by a single tray being removed, the close in results in a collision. The gap left by the tray and the distance covered by the straight, speed-1 template are identical—even though they sometimes appear not to be as a result of trays being bumped.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 hours ago, Hos said:

I don't play Runewars as often as I'd like, and I'm not 100% on the rules which frustrates me if an attempted maneuver fails because of my misunderstanding.

Question, I have single rank unit nudged right up behind another single rank unit, will a one move forward with the back rank clear the front unit or will the nubs prevent it? 

No, it won't. In fact, neither will a 2-speed move, and I'll illustrate why: YPacXKe.jpg

So because trays from different units never interlock, you'll always be the length of the connectors away from being able to land on the other side. The only precedent for "nudging" a unit to fit is when the SIDE connectors hit an obstacle during an advance, so as far as I can tell, to move through a unit (either a single tray of friendlies or anyone for Wraiths) you'll need a minimum advance of your number of ranks + 2.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×