Jump to content
defkhan1

Huge Ship FAQ Updated

Recommended Posts

Happened over a week ago and everyone missed it somehow.

https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/3d/45/3d4558ad-1116-4ec6-a1a9-a4b5bd961520/x-wing_huge_ship_rules_40.pdf

Major changes including: no more Maul or Zuckuss on the C-ROC, Esege explicitly DOES work with the CR-90, conditions don't affect huge ships, etc.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No more Zuckuss or Maul shenanigans, and codified Esege to work (very nice). No Harpooned! on Huge Ships (any nerf to poons is good in my book). Also nerfed Bo Shek and Cassian Andor (crew), but I think  that prevents some abusive stuff too. I hadn't heard of it happening, but I can imagine the high-jinks.

Edited by kris40k

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was suspicious of infinite Maul/Zuckuss anyway, due to the Yorr/Soontir precedent (if you don't receive the stress token, you don't get the benefit). I'm glad to see they stayed consistent.

I thought for sure they were going to change Jam and Reinforce to stay consistent. oh well, the dream is over.

Edited by skotothalamos

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it’s  going to get messy going forward now that the tie reaper has a jam action and it’s not the same as the stress one.

They need to clarify though - now that you cannot pay a price of something you cannot receive, does that mean you cannot remove 0 of something you cannot have? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, ScummyRebel said:

I think it’s  going to get messy going forward now that the tie reaper has a jam action and it’s not the same as the stress one.

They need to clarify though - now that you cannot pay a price of something you cannot receive, does that mean you cannot remove 0 of something you cannot have? 

Yeah, they should just clarify that certain Small/Large ship actions and Huge ship actions follow different rules, like Reinforce and Jam, but otherwise I think its going to be pretty clear for most folks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, kris40k said:

Yeah, they should just clarify that certain Small/Large ship actions and Huge ship actions follow different rules, like Reinforce and Jam, but otherwise I think its going to be pretty clear for most folks.

My other concern is if that kimogila pilot is going to auto damage a huge ship now because if they can’t pay the price of something they cannot have, how can they remove 0 tokens to prevent the auto damage? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
37 minutes ago, ScummyRebel said:

My other concern is if that kimogila pilot is going to auto damage a huge ship now because if they can’t pay the price of something they cannot have, how can they remove 0 tokens to prevent the auto damage? 

I think its fine

latest?cb=20171103212625

"or remove all of its focus and evade tokens."
 

There is no rule saying that it cannot remove tokens. In fact, the rules require that any Focus or Evade tokens assigned to a Huge ship are removed and returned to the pile. Therefore they can remove 0 tokens.

Edited by kris40k

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

General Hux in epic was beginning to get focused elsewhere but felt the question needs to be addressed here:

latest?cb=20161024150909 

So this isn’t a cost to begin his ability, it is a result OF his ability.  Can Hux be used on Huge ships?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes he can. You just do what the card says. Then observe that you cant receive stress tokens.

Zuckus: "do x to get a cookie" "but i cant do x" "no cookie for you, sir"

Hux: "get a cookie." "thanks for the cookie." "Now do x" "Sorry, cant do that. Ill just eat my cookie now."

Edited by MaxPower

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, MaxPower said:

Yes he can. You just do what the card says. Then observe that you cant receive stress tokens.

Zuckus: "do x to get a cookie" "but i cant do x" "no cookie for you, sir"

Hux: "get a cookie." "thanks for the cookie." "Now do x" "Sorry, cant do that. Ill just eat my cookie now."

Nice.  Thank you! Lol

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, MaxPower said:

Yes he can. You just do what the card says. Then observe that you cant receive stress tokens.

Zuckus: "do x to get a cookie" "but i cant do x" "no cookie for you, sir"

Hux: "get a cookie." "thanks for the cookie." "Now do x" "Sorry, cant do that. Ill just eat my cookie now."

Brilliantly said.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, defkhan1 said:

Happened over a week ago and everyone missed it somehow.

https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/3d/45/3d4558ad-1116-4ec6-a1a9-a4b5bd961520/x-wing_huge_ship_rules_40.pdf

Major changes including: no more Maul or Zuckuss on the C-ROC, Esege explicitly DOES work with the CR-90, conditions don't affect huge ships, etc.

It wasn't a week ago.  On the FAQ page the file shows that it was updated today. Why FFG kept it hidden to us is a mystery.

So brief summary of changes.

  • They now use the C-Roc as an example using the back end of the base as a movement instead of the center blue line. So most of the updates was to fill in the C-Roc and their no center line firing arc profile. Which means we could get more ships that use Firing arcs as a section profile or not.
  • They elaborated on crippled sections. Crippled sections keep their face up damage cards but can still use actions on their damage or upgrade cards that have not been discarded. Which means critical damage has a bigger effect on corvettes than they do on transports.
  • Opposing player can chose which side takes the damage if more than one section is overlapped by a small or large ship. (Still an instant kill for the small/large ship)
  • Huge ships can spend Esege Tuketu's focus token for effect (Thank You FFG).
  • Zuckuss <crew> nerf (more like a ban:rolleyes:)
  • Only Free Actions are from cards that have the Huge Ship only restriction (just like modifications).
  • Area Effect cards does not effect the other section of the huge ship. If both sections are in range of an area of effect attack, opposing player chooses which section.
  • Huge Ship uses modified rules for some upgrade cards(:huh:?)
  • Huge Ships cannot be assigned condition cards (keep it simple silly)

We Have a Huge Ship Ban Restriction List 

  • Biggs Darklighter (not really a banned but nerf biggs pilot ability still does not work on huge ships)
  • Navagator is still banned
  • Cassian Andor is banned
  • Bo Shek Cannot change a huge ships maneuver dial. (Instead Bo Shek gets crushed:P)
  • You can pretty much add Zuckuss<crew> and Maul to that list, they now work just as well on huge ships as Leebo <crew> does.

So some Epic Clarifications for specific Cards (Thank You FFG).

  • Dash Rendar cannot ignore huge ships even when used as obstacles (can we take them to tournaments now?)
  • This cannot be said enough Esege Tuketu's token can be spent by huge ships for effect.
  • Vader <crew> cannot be used if on a crippled section. Only the section that Vader <crew> is equipped to gets damaged from his ability. Vader can cripple his own section, (I really think that Darth Vader and Kylo Ren need to switch upgrade cards).
  • Gonk can be used for either section regardless to which side he is equipped on (Possible Scum Corvette in the making).
  • R2-D2 can be used for either section regardless of which section he is equipped on.

So thanks FFG for finally updating Huge Ship rules and answering a lot of questions we have had for years now. Some things I think FFG missed but I am pretty sure most TOs will be in agreement. Such as Double Crew Cards being equipped to both sides (So Wookie Comandoes have no issues going on a CR-90). Just if a side is crippled and no longer has the upgrade slot for the upgrade card the upgrade card is discarded with it. Again that is not official but I think that is how most TOs will rule it out.

Edited by Marinealver

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...