Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Bivistheman

Just to clarify something about movement points

Recommended Posts

So I keep seeing people post that you must end your movement before you declare an attack. If you don't use all your movement points then attack can you use the rest of your movement points after you attack?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Bivistheman

Short answer: Yes :)

Longer answer:

When people are saying "you must end your movement before you attack", what they mean is that you have to stop in a legal space to attack (so, for example, you can't attack while standing in the same space as an enemy figure).  Movement in this game can seem a little weird at first glance, but here's the basic rundown:

 

  • When you perform a Move action, you gain movement points equal to your speed.  Using a Move action does not actually move your figure!
  • There are other ways to gain movement points during your activation - for example in skirmish there are some command cards you can play, in campaign heroes can spend up to two strain to gain that many movement points.  Again, these movement points are added to your pool but do not have to be spent right away.
  • At any time during your activation you can use as many movement points as you want to actually move your figure.  So for example if you have 4 movement points built up you could move two (stopping in an empty space), perform an Attack, and then move two more.

And that's the basics!  If you can remember the above then you're 95% of the way there.  However there are a few little side rules and exceptions to be aware of as well:

  • If a figure ever gains movement points outside of its activation (for example if an Imperial Officer orders someone else to move) then all of those movement points have to be spent immediately and all at once.
  • If you ever gain movement points from a special action then those movement points also have to be spent immediately and all at once.  A special action is something with the little arrow symbol next to it.  The command card "Urgency" from skirmish mode is probably the most common example of this: as a special action you gain movement points equal to your speed plus 2, but you have to use all of those points at once without pausing to shoot in between.
  • If you ever have an ability or mission effect tell you to "Move X Spaces", that's different from "Gain X movement points".  Moving X spaces has to be done all at once - so you can't for example pause to shoot half way through.  The advantage of moving spaces, though, is that you can move through things like enemy figures or blue terrain without taking a movement penalty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In other words: Movement rules allows you to enter a space with another figure if you have enough movement points to end movement legally afterwards. You cannot end movement in a space with another figure. (You need to end movement to perform an action or an attack.) Otherwise you can (start and) end movement as many times during your activation as you have moment points.

 

Edited by a1bert

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, there are.

1) If you don't have enough movement points to end movement legally, for example with 1 mp left and all adjacent spaces are occupied by figures. (Or you just don't want to go backwards away from the mission objective.)

2) If an event happens or an ability triggers and you become stunned with no action(point) left to remove it. You cannot voluntarily exit your space while stunned. You might be technically able to spend the points to move, the figure just doesn't move. But, you might be able to spend movement points for abilities given by mission rules even while stunned.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...