Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Lord Tareq

Impact Grenades

Recommended Posts

So, from the rulebook, grenades count as a weapon upgrade that can be used by every model in the unit. Also from the rulebook, weapon keywords add up. I.e. 5 Stormtroopers in a unit with the impact grenade upgrade, will throw (within range 1) 5 black dice with impact 5. Makes vehicles a lot more vulnerable to infantry at close range!

Seems to be a no-brainer for Stormtroopers to use grenades by the way for only 5 points, since it actually changes their attack dice to black at distance 1 or less. For rebels its a bit less of a no-brainer as their ranged attacks are already black.

 

Edited by Lord Tareq

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thats kind of what we expected, but its excellent to have confirmation. That makes infantry pretty mean up close against vehicles, which seems fair enough!

For the ultimate (and very impractical and unlikely since you cant move and shoot a HH12....) tank busting attack you want Stormtroopers with an extra man and an HH12.

8 black dice with Impact 8. Fun times! 

But it's silly and would never work unless some genius strolls his armour into range 1 of you.....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
16 minutes ago, Extropia said:

Thats kind of what we expected, but its excellent to have confirmation. That makes infantry pretty mean up close against vehicles, which seems fair enough!

For the ultimate (and very impractical and unlikely since you cant move and shoot a HH12....) tank busting attack you want Stormtroopers with an extra man and an HH12.

8 black dice with Impact 8. Fun times! 

But it's silly and would never work unless some genius strolls his armour into range 1 of you.....

Except Impact Grenades are range 1 and HH12 is range 2-4.

Does give you the ability to effectively cover range 1-4 with black dice and impact, though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good point. its even less likely than i thought then....tbh it doesn't change much, the odds of anybody sensible moving their army that close to an unactivated unit armed with anti-vehicle weapons SHOULD be pretty slim :P

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This opened up a new question for me though. With Concussion Grenades giving the Blast keyword:

If I have a squad of 5 stormtroopers armed with a single DLT and concussion grenades. When I attack at range one, can I use the DLT and four grenades - applying the blast keyword to the DLT as well?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

8 minutes ago, OMGBRICK said:

This opened up a new question for me though. With Concussion Grenades giving the Blast keyword:

If I have a squad of 5 stormtroopers armed with a single DLT and concussion grenades. When I attack at range one, can I use the DLT and four grenades - applying the blast keyword to the DLT as well?

The prevalent belief is yes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
19 minutes ago, Jabby said:

 

The prevalent belief is yes.

Not just prevalent belief, it clearly states so in the rules. Also, with special weapons you have the option to fire on a different unit than the normally armed troopers, although if you do that the attack from the normally armed troopers won't get the keywords from the special weapon and vice versa.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 minutes ago, Lord Tareq said:

Not just prevalent belief, it clearly states so in the rules. Also, with special weapons you have the option to fire on a different unit than the normally armed troopers, although if you do that the attack from the normally armed troopers won't get the keywords from the special weapon and vice versa.

Feel free to share the book with everyone. Until it’s out there, no one should be taking anyone’s word on how the rules work.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, Thoras said:

Feel free to share the book with everyone. Until it’s out there, no one should be taking anyone’s word on how the rules work.

Several pages from the Learn to Play book can be read clearly in the wave of unboxing videos that were released today. I think that’s what @Lord Tareq is referring to. I believe the Spikey Bits video has the best shots of the rules surrounding making dice pools, attacking, applying keywords, etc

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
42 minutes ago, Undeadguy said:

So.... how do you attach a Scope to a grenade for those extra rerolls?

Scope could be an abstract representation of enhanced targeting systems inside helmets etc. which would help with everything including throwing grenades. One of the old SW games had you play as a Rebel in Stormtrooper armor and the combat vision was like this:

Visor_dark.png

Especially the floating cross-hair would be useful :P

Edited by Lord Tareq

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Lord Tareq said:

So, from the rulebook, grenades count as a weapon upgrade that can be used by every model in the unit. Also from the rulebook, weapon keywords add up. I.e. 5 Stormtroopers in a unit with the impact grenade upgrade, will throw (within range 1) 5 black dice with impact 5. Makes vehicles a lot more vulnerable to infantry at close range!

Seems to be a no-brainer for Stormtroopers to use grenades by the way for only 5 points, since it actually changes their attack dice to black at distance 1 or less. For rebels its a bit less of a no-brainer as their ranged attacks are already black.

 

I think you are wrong and it would be black for every figure using granades and only impact 1. It'd add its impact to any other figure using a weapon with impact, for example DLT 19. So, for a 6 figures unit with DLT and grenades firing at range 1 it would be, 5 blacks,  2 reds and impact 2.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, Lannes said:

I think you are wrong and it would be black for every figure using granades and only impact 1. It'd add its impact to any other figure using a weapon with impact, for example DLT 19. So, for a 6 figures unit with DLT and grenades firing at range 1 it would be, 5 blacks,  2 reds and impact 2.

Possibly. The rules literally say this:

Quote

Weapon keywords are cumulative, when performing an attack that includes two weapons that have the Impact 1 keyword, these two keywords combine to add up to Impact 2

From browsing the other pages it seems 'weapon' means all weapons with the same name which would support your interpretation. Logically it doesn't make sense though since if you would roll the dice individually each one should have the impact 1 effect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I hope keywords don't stack like that. I'd hate for Impact 5 to be a thing because range 1 is 6 inches, which creates a 12in circle of death around every squad. 2 squads with grenades, +1 troop, and Z6 could potentially drop an AT-ST in a single round. 11 dice per attack with Impact 5. You just need 1 more crit after you apply the total Impact 10. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, Undeadguy said:

I hope keywords don't stack like that. I'd hate for Impact 5 to be a thing because range 1 is 6 inches, which creates a 12in circle of death around every squad. 2 squads with grenades, +1 troop, and Z6 could potentially drop an AT-ST in a single round. 11 dice per attack with Impact 5. You just need 1 more crit after you apply the total Impact 10. 

Unsupported vehicles surrounded by enemy infantry are also known as targets :P. It would make the AT-RT flamethrower build much riskier though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 minutes ago, Caimheul1313 said:

Unsupported vehicles surrounded by enemy infantry are also known as targets :P. It would make the AT-RT flamethrower build much riskier though.

Sarcasm aside, yea I do think squads should have the advantage at closer ranges over vehicles and that's represented by the fixed move template and the free form movement. But I could jam 4 squads and Vader around the AT-ST but that still doesn't stop those 2 squads from having 10 Impact and destroying 195 points. The whole concept of vehicle/squad support isn't really incorporated into Legion like it is in Armada where Escort forces you to attack it. 

Really the only way to prevent those squad attacks would be to kill them first or engaged in close quarters.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...