Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Hurske

Signature abilities usage

Recommended Posts

Hi everyone, I got a question for you other overlords. When a player uses a signature ability or an ability that is a one time use per session, and one that uses a skill roll to activate. 

Do you count the failure as part of the overall use, so if you fail, you are out the rest of the session with it. 

Or do you have the use only be for when the ability succeeds. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Depends on the ability, technically. If it is something that modifies a skill roll, like two boost once per session, then if the roll doesnt go your way, the ability is still used. If it were a full up signature ability then I would tend to lean toward it is only expended on a a success, since alot of them dont require a roll. Unless the signature ability is extra devastating because of the roll. So it goes back to the specifics of the situation.

Do you have a specific case you are wondering about?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can't recall the ability off the top of my head, it wasn't an ability that just adds dice, those I will let fail. 

It was more specific of the ability only activating if the player passes the skill roll. 

 

One I can think of is the signature ability that wipes out all the Minions in an encounter. Would you still let the player try again next turn if he fails his first try. 

Or maybe limit it to one try per encounter untill he succeeds, then it's off until next session. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Per RAW it is one TRY (without upgrades) per Session.

you first spend the Destiny points and with that you activate the session long cool down of the ability.

 

Of course if you want to have it a little bit more light hearted (e.g. because your Players are of a younger age, or you don't meet up to often to play/ a one time session) you may MHOUSERULE  that your players may try it again until sucess.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2/11/2018 at 7:41 PM, Hurske said:

Do you count the failure as part of the overall use, so if you fail, you are out the rest of the session with it. 

Assuming a one use Sig Ability, once those dice leave your hand, the ability is spent. The God of Dice cares not for if you come up success or fail. One and done, baby.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...