Jump to content
Tahofeng

Rules question : Force illusion + shield

Recommended Posts

I want to check if my understanding of the rules are goods, as a lot of people i played against use force illusion in a "wrong way" for me:

When the opponent resolves dices, they use force illusion to block damage equal to one source ( dice + modifier) without looking at the shield on the character damaged.

Example:  Yoda as only 1 PV, 1 shield+ force illusion vs 2 dice ranged damage (2 flat and 1 flat)

They will block the 2 damage with force illusion and after that block the 1 damage with the shield=> result Yoda lives with 1 PV.

But from the rules/ card description :

Force illusion : "Before attached character takes damage, you may discard cards from the top of your deck equal to that damage to block it. Then discard this upgrade from play."

Shield : "Shields block damage before it is taken. Shields must be used to block damage, if possible."

My interpretation from these sentences: force illusion cannot be triggered on one player as long that this one have shield(s) ( to "take" damage, shield should be removed)

Back to the example of yoda (1 PV, 1 shield+ force illusion vs 2 dice ranged damage (2 flat and 1 flat))

resolution of the 2 damage : 1 shield is removed, force illsuion block the rest (1 here)

resolution of the 1 damage : Yoda die 

Please could you confirm this point to me , if i am right or wrong ( or miss something)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, I believe originally you either couldn't use Force Illusion if you had shields, or it was a grey area (can't remember). Then they changed/clarified that all of the 'damage prevention' effects essentially happened at the same time, and you get to choose how you resolve them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, Abyss said:

Yeah, I believe originally you either couldn't use Force Illusion if you had shields, or it was a grey area (can't remember). Then they changed/clarified that all of the 'damage prevention' effects essentially happened at the same time, and you get to choose how you resolve them.

Originally, shields were kind of a before application for damage mitigation.  They had to be used before FI, and there was no option to not use them.  Even now, there's a difference, as shields get counted for determining how much indirect damage you can apply to a character, while FI does not count.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2/12/2018 at 12:54 PM, Mep said:

When dealing with force illusion, think like this, "how broken can I make this card" and play it that way. You'll be correct.

Nah. It would be more broken if you could put infinite indirect damage from a single source on Force Illusion, but you cannot. You can only Force Illusion as much indirect damage as you could place on the character without overkilling it if you weren't using Force Illusion.

So in that scenario, your guideline would not result in correct play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...