Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Stansfield

Some questions?

Recommended Posts

Hi guys - some questions came up during play the other day:

1: Will the upcomming Mask-Expansion require former expansions to be playable?

2: Focus action: In the Action phase. Can we do it twice in a row or only once (as the other actions)?

3: Unique assets: A card says, "gain a unique relic." Does that include unique Magical relics?

4: Can a Investigator Discard an item as an Action (or is it only when forced to)?

Have a nice day out there:)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Stansfield said:

1: Will the upcomming Mask-Expansion require former expansions to be playable?

No, it won't.

1 minute ago, Stansfield said:

2: Focus action: In the Action phase. Can we do it twice in a row or only once (as the other actions)?

Only once, just like all actions.

2 minutes ago, Stansfield said:

3: Unique assets: A card says, "gain a unique relic." Does that include unique Magical relics?

Yes, it also includes Weapon Relics, Ally Relics and all the other Relics that happen to have more than one trait.

4 minutes ago, Stansfield said:

4: Can a Investigator Discard an item as an Action (...)?

No, they can't.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another question:

The Ancient One is up and we're on the Final Mystery to kill the AO. We player with 4 investigators. 2 investigators dies to the AO. One is in a adjacent space and can't attack the AO. 4th one in melee and attacking AO.

AO's chip says: Toughness equals Investigators+3 so T=7. Since two are dead and there by Elminated (and according to Rulebook p. 16, Eliminated paragraph, "... can no longer participate in the game." is the AO's toughness now 5?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Stansfield said:

Another question:

The Ancient One is up and we're on the Final Mystery to kill the AO. We player with 4 investigators. 2 investigators dies to the AO. One is in a adjacent space and can't attack the AO. 4th one in melee and attacking AO.

AO's chip says: Toughness equals Investigators+3 so T=7. Since two are dead and there by Elminated (and according to Rulebook p. 16, Eliminated paragraph, "... can no longer participate in the game." is the AO's toughness now 5?

If that's the case we win!! Else we fail by 1 single die roll not being a success:-(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not sure I understand your last statement. Are you sure you're doing combat right?

Anyhow, the reference card which determines such numbers is chosen as the beginning of the game and doesn't ever change.
So there'll be no reduced Toughness, sadly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But there may with next expansion be an increase. If I read right (and remember right) one of the consequences from failed personal stories is that the number of players is counted 1 higher than it actually is. Not sure if that is in all cases or only on a specific type of cards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 minutes ago, Lorinor said:

Not sure I understand your last statement. Are you sure you're doing combat right?

Anyhow, the reference card which determines such numbers is chosen as the beginning of the game and doesn't ever change.
So there'll be no reduced Toughness, sadly.

Nevermind  my last statement:) There is alot of Talents and other stuff inflicting the die rolled. Pretty sure we got that right.

And I gotta agree with you that the number is fixed from the start. So it's stil  a Toughness 7 AO even if to players/investigators are Eliminated. 

Well - we'll get it next time!:-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And another question came up:

-On a Complex Encounter we need to make Will-test to decide if we need to do the PASS or FAIL test next.

The same question if we need to make any test on a location encounter card (Arkham/London or perhaps a Wilderness encounter).

Let's say we go the Asset: Vatican Missionary Ally-card " Gain +1 Will. You may reroll 1 die when resolving a will-test"

- Can we + the none-combat encounter(s) assets to that test?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also remember that you can only use the +(whatever) from ONE asset card for each dice pool. You can use the special abilities from all of them(such as the reroll), but if you have one that gives you a +2 and one gives you a +1, you only get +2, you don't get +3 because they don't stack.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, mwmcintyre said:

Also remember that you can only use the +(whatever) from ONE asset card for each dice pool.

Fixed that too.
This rule isn't tied to assets. At the very least, there are Spells and Conditions out there which also give bonuses and are also subject to this rule.

Edited by tsuma534

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, tsuma534 said:

Fixed that too.
This rule isn't tied to assets. At the very least, there are Spells and Conditions out there which also give bonuses and are also subject to this rule.

Very true. Was slightly misusing the asset terminology. Thanks for the clarification for others sake. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I get why weapons and items (+) don't stack. After all there are only so many hands you have. Also, the reference guide refers speciffically for weapons to this on the FAQ .

What I don't get is why wouldn't ally (+) stack. After all, they're supposed to be supporters there, a helping hand if you will, not just weapons you could choose from.
If allies are supporters then they shouldn't be considered as things to choose from your armory but rather as people that can assist you in your tests or combat.

Where was this rule that allies do not stack specified?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rules on this are in reference under the "Tests" entry

tl;dr:

  • all +X go into a bag
  • you only pull one of them out, the highest one
  • there is no choice on the matter, you have to do it for every test
  • +X does not know "where" it's from

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...