Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Lobokai

Tarkin... can you remove 2 blanks?

Recommended Posts

Resolve and Remove are 2 different game mechanics.  Tarkin's ability says to remove 2 dice, and blanks do count as symbols.  You cannot ever resolve blanks, but you certainly can remove them due to game effects like this.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yup. So ideally a Tarkin deck would have a handful of cheap upgrades purely to get the dice out there for his ability.
Things like Datapad, Extortion, Crystal Ball, or Barter become a bit more valuable in a deck with Tarkin because theyre 1cost upgrades with a die. Obviously dont include things to strictly go after his ability, it only works once, but theres definitely more incentive to include them in his deck than normal.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Vineheart01 said:

Yup. So ideally a Tarkin deck would have a handful of cheap upgrades purely to get the dice out there for his ability.
Things like Datapad, Extortion, Crystal Ball, or Barter become a bit more valuable in a deck with Tarkin because theyre 1cost upgrades with a die. Obviously dont include things to strictly go after his ability, it only works once, but theres definitely more incentive to include them in his deck than normal.

Chance Cube too. For the off chance you get that 2 or 3 resource side, but also cuz it's 50% chance to roll a blank to match with your other sides.

~D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 minutes ago, HoodieDM said:

Chance Cube too.

Perhaps because I can roll blanks so consistently on dice that only have one blank, I think Tarken is best used as a nice effect, at least as far as blanks go. In some regards what you want to do is roll well enough as to not want to use Tarkens ability, but when you do it is a nice coincidence.

Mind you I played a game last week where my rather luck challenged opponent had rolled 4 or 5 dice and each had a different symbol or he rolled 4 damage on 2 faces and gained no benefit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I totally get where the OP is coming from, blank by definition is devoid of any markings or symbols so its weird when a blank is considered a symbol. It feels like FFG redefine the meaning of words all the time when making rules for their games.

 

The first time it came up for me was when an opponent used Force Misdirection on one of their blanks to remove all my blanks, I was very much surprised that it works.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, Mep said:

Tarkin is the best card in the game to make you not roll blanks when you really do.  Pair him with Power of the Darkside to never roll a blank again.

No, thats Anger

Seriously the amount of times i had Anger in my hand and 10 dice in the pool where NONE of them were blanks but there was a nasty damage die i didnt want to get smacked with has...angered me greatly lol.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is why I love Tarkin with Fragmentation Grenades. Roll him in with two of them and remove both of them to do four damage. Maybe resolve them if they roll more than 4 damage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...