Jump to content
Algernon

Raider aft crippled, then reveals 1 bank

Recommended Posts

Played a game tonight.  Raider was rammed in the aft section by the gr-75, crippling the section.  Raider then reveals a 1 bank maneuver. Crippled aft card says cannot do 1 bank maneuvers.  What should we do? Couldn't find the answer in a quick flip through the the rulebook, so we treated it as a one forward.  I had a look in the support section, but couldn't find a clear answer. Anyone know how it should have been played?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
27 minutes ago, Algernon said:

Played a game tonight.  Raider was rammed in the aft section by the gr-75, crippling the section.  Raider then reveals a 1 bank maneuver. Crippled aft card says cannot do 1 bank maneuvers.  What should we do? Couldn't find the answer in a quick flip through the the rulebook, so we treated it as a one forward.  I had a look in the support section, but couldn't find a clear answer. Anyone know how it should have been played?

Aside from a small/large ship attempting a red maneuver while stressed, an illegal maneuver results in your opponent selecting a legal maneuver for your ship. For example, a ship with Shaken Pilot cannot be assigned straight maneuvers. "If a ship with Shaken Pilot reveals a straight maneuver, the opposing player chooses any nonstraight maneuver on that ship’s dial for that ship to execute. If the ship is also stressed, the opposing player chooses any non-red, non-straight maneuver on that ship’s dial for that ship to execute." (FAQ v4.4.0, pg. 9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, Algernon said:

Played a game tonight.  Raider was rammed in the aft section by the gr-75, crippling the section.  Raider then reveals a 1 bank maneuver. Crippled aft card says cannot do 1 bank maneuvers.  What should we do? Couldn't find the answer in a quick flip through the the rulebook, so we treated it as a one forward.  I had a look in the support section, but couldn't find a clear answer. Anyone know how it should have been played?

 

5 hours ago, FireSpy said:

Aside from a small/large ship attempting a red maneuver while stressed, an illegal maneuver results in your opponent selecting a legal maneuver for your ship. For example, a ship with Shaken Pilot cannot be assigned straight maneuvers. "If a ship with Shaken Pilot reveals a straight maneuver, the opposing player chooses any nonstraight maneuver on that ship’s dial for that ship to execute. If the ship is also stressed, the opposing player chooses any non-red, non-straight maneuver on that ship’s dial for that ship to execute." (FAQ v4.4.0, pg. 9)

Well, this is my off-the-cuff ruling. . .

Damage cards say the ship cannot be assigned a 1 bank.  Since the maneuver was assigned prior to the damage, it was a legal maneuver when assigned, and can be carried out one last time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

2 hours ago, Darth Meanie said:
8 hours ago, Algernon said:

Played a game tonight.  Raider was rammed in the aft section by the gr-75, crippling the section.  Raider then reveals a 1 bank maneuver. Crippled aft card says cannot do 1 bank maneuvers.  What should we do? Couldn't find the answer in a quick flip through the the rulebook, so we treated it as a one forward.  I had a look in the support section, but couldn't find a clear answer. Anyone know how it should have been played?

 

8 hours ago, FireSpy said:

Aside from a small/large ship attempting a red maneuver while stressed, an illegal maneuver results in your opponent selecting a legal maneuver for your ship. For example, a ship with Shaken Pilot cannot be assigned straight maneuvers. "If a ship with Shaken Pilot reveals a straight maneuver, the opposing player chooses any nonstraight maneuver on that ship’s dial for that ship to execute. If the ship is also stressed, the opposing player chooses any non-red, non-straight maneuver on that ship’s dial for that ship to execute." (FAQ v4.4.0, pg. 9)

Well, this is my off-the-cuff ruling. . .

Damage cards say the ship cannot be assigned a 1 bank.  Since the maneuver was assigned prior to the damage, it was a legal maneuver when assigned, and can be carried out one last time.

I agree with you in cases where it says "cannot be assigned". However, the crippled Raider aft section says "You cannot choose or execute [left 1 bank] or [right 1 bank] maneuvers", making it illegal to execute the maneuver, even if it was legal when it was chosen.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, FireSpy said:

I agree with you in cases where it says "cannot be assigned". However, the crippled Raider aft section says "You cannot choose or execute [left 1 bank] or [right 1 bank] maneuvers", making it illegal to execute the maneuver, even if it was legal when it was chosen.

There it is.  I couldn't find the card online to read, and not at home to look at my own.

So I guess you should go back to opponent chooses. . .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
47 minutes ago, ScummyRebel said:

That’s unfortunate... I would argue thematically it gets to do it one last time but I guess RAW if you can cripple the rear in the activation phase before it activates and it was banking you get to reset it 

Imperial Captain: Turn us to port!

Helmsman:  They shot us in the butt, sir!  I'm gonna do whatever they say!!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...