Hexdot

Advice wanted. 1000 pts Epic, 3 months to set the stage.

Confirmed. 8 players. 6x12 table. Intensive 12 hours of gameplay. I must think about this parameters and write one "simple" but interesting Cinematic. 

Imps vs Rebel. Each side must deploy a squadron of capital ships. 3 CR 90. 3 Raiders. At least one GR 75 and one Gozanti. No complex interactions. Limited Named pilots. So many options... your ideas?

Edited by Hexdot

Wow.  That sounds like too much fun.  I have limited Epic experience, and only with 300 points per side.  But.  The thing that pops immediately into my head is to add some Objectives.  By all means, play to total destruction.  But add a little something else to add some spice to the game. 

Or, say, if one of the "capital" ships is on its last Hull or two, if it makes it to aboard edge and "jumps to hyperspace," perhaps the opposing team only gets half points.  A little more flavor - because it's not common for ships of that size to fight to the death if they actually have a way out, right? 

And lastly - and this *is* from experience - consider having each player control a nearly equal number of ships.  In our last Epic game, one player controlled a fully-kitted Raider (150 points), while the other player ran a couple TIE mini-swarms and a support Lambda.  The Raider player got sooooo bored waiting for his partner to drop dials and make maneuvers and roll dice and so on.  Granted, when his turn came around to activate the Raider, he was very busy and even forgot about some of his triggers as there was frankly too much happening on a 150 point Raider.  But still.

I love that you are putting limits on Aces.  A few for flavor is nice, but swarms of ships are so much fun in Epic.

You could also add the "Flagship" title to one of the Epics. That makes them worth extra points and gives that ship something unique like extra energy, slighty more shields, etc..