SpikeSpiegel

Help With Testing A New Epic Format: Fighter Squadrons

Hello fellow lovers of the Epic format! 

I am invoking the power of this community to help me playtest a variant format of Epic that I like to call Epic: Fighter Squadrons.

A brief little background on my experiences in X-Wing and playing Epic: I’ve been playing since 2014 and have been on top of the X-Wing Epic product releases with the exception of the C-ROC cruiser. I’ve played an 8-man 2,000 point game, a 1v1 800 point game, a 2v2 500 point game, several games of Team Epic, and several games of Epic, so to say the least, I’ve got a decent share of experience flying with a lot of plastic on the table.

Two weeks ago, I played a friendly game of Epic: Fighter Squadrons with one of the locals in our game night crew and it turned out to be really fun. We traded shot-for-shot and ship-for-ship until the game devolved into a 100 point dogfight, which couldn’t have been more fun at the end of 3 hours. 

The format is ruled as follows:

EPIC: FIGHTER SQUADRONS

-300 points of SMALL BASE ships ONLY.

-Each player brings 6 obstacles and places them away from range 2 of any board edge and away from range 1 of any other obstacle.

-Point bidding in lists for initiative is still viable.

-The game is over once all enemy ships are destroyed or the enemy concedes.

As of right now, the only restriction to list building is running small base ships only. I wanted to get the feel of fighters, bombers, and interceptors engaging in an aggressive, open conflict with each other without any added mechanics that Epic ships provide to the game. Just a straight-up, shoot-ya-face match that is enveloped in chaos and confusion and tests your mettle (and sanity) flying small bases only.