emsgoof

My attempts at victory! (Martinsburg Regional)

As I posted up last night, I went to the Martinsburg regionals yesterday (using a vacation day from work to do it! ?)  I had been working on my regional list for a while, to avoid the "Throw something together the night before and see if it works" mentality that I normally go with.  I had been running it at our store monthly tournament for a few months in various configurations, and I finally settled on the specifics this past Thursday.  

Since I haven't actually posted it before, it was:

ISD1, Screed, Avenger, Boarding Troopers, Wing Commander, Leading Shots

Gladiator 1, Demolisher, Assault Proton Torpedoes, Ordnance Experts, Engine Techs

Raider 1, Instigator, Flechette Torpedoes, Ordnance Experts

2x Gozanti cruisers

2 Decimators, Valen Rudor

Superior Positions, Advanced Gunnery, Hyperspace Assault

The concept behind the build is to have two heavy-hitters (Avenger and Demolisher) doing the bulk of the work, and the Raider, Gozantis, and squadrons try to handle the squadrons, tying up any enemy fighter balls long enough that I don't die.  Wing Commander is there on the ISD to ensure I can get the squadron command for Boarding Troopers, even if there's a slicer tools flotilla running around, and the ISD can also activate the fighters if necessary.  @CyborgNinja has shown me the importance of disrupting enemy squadron balls with his expert level squadron play (all luck he will claim, he's very modest ?)!  I had tried with just 4 activations, no engine tech, and 3 Defenders plus Stele and had a good 13 point bid, but I felt not having a fifth activation was just hurting my gameplay too much with Avenger and Demo.

I think I can safely say many people were surprised at how many participants showed up, with 36 starting the tournament!  We had people from as far away as the Philadelphia area showing up!  Four rounds was going to lead to a long day of playing.