Jump to content
Maim Voorhees

End of game, no cards left in either players hand or deck, 3 characters (2 for one player, 1 for the other), who wins?

Recommended Posts

Like the title says, who wins?  This came up from a friend last night. Would the total health remaining come into a tie breaker?  Are shields able to affect that? I don’t know details at all, just saw the post on our destiny game group page and thought I’d ask. Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In tournaments, (or events with timed rounds) damage dealt and cards left are calculated as well.

Page 14: SWD: Tournament Regulations:

Going to Time
If neither player has achieved victory at the end of a tournament round, they must follow the
steps below, in order, to determine who receives a win for the current game. That player’s
opponent receives a loss for the game. If a single elimination round with a best-of-three match
ends and only one player has a game win for the match, the player with a game win wins the
match instead of players following the steps below.

1.    The player who has less damage on their characters receives a win. To determine this,
players count the total amount of damage on any characters in play and add the total
health value of all their defeated characters to achieve a final number. If both players
have the same total, proceed to step 2.

2.    The player with the most cards remaining in his or her deck and hand receives a win. If
both players have the same number of cards remaining, proceed to step 3.

3.    The player who controls the battlefield at the end of the game receives a win.

(Source:
https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/10/fd/10fd1014-0865-40ef-b817-fe0896941bc8/swd_tournament_regulations_v20_text_version.pdf)

Edited by Fizz

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The stated example doesn’t fall under tiebreakers due to round time.  He asked who wins if both players are milled out at the end of a round.

So damage Dealt etc doesn’t come into play here.  Only who controls the battlefield at the end of the round.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 15 "Wining the Game" of the Rules Reference: 

• If a player has no cards in their hand and deck at the end of a round (after the upkeep phase), they lose and the other player wins. If both players would lose this way, the player who controls the battlefield at the end of the round wins.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 hours ago, RJM said:

The stated example doesn’t fall under tiebreakers due to round time.  He asked who wins if both players are milled out at the end of a round.

So damage Dealt etc doesn’t come into play here.  Only who controls the battlefield at the end of the round.

Right, and Lindgaard answered his question. I was providing addition information.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Similarly, with Greedo's ability, it is conceivable that both players will eliminate all of each other's characters during the same turn. I assume that same rule would apply and the battlefield controller would win.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, jcangel said:

Similarly, with Greedo's ability, it is conceivable that both players will eliminate all of each other's characters during the same turn. I assume that same rule would apply and the battlefield controller would win.

Actually, upon reflection, this may be wrong. Greedo's ability is a Before ability. I actually think the Greedo player wins.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, jcangel said:

Actually, upon reflection, this may be wrong. Greedo's ability is a Before ability. I actually think the Greedo player wins.

Correct.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, jcangel said:

Actually, upon reflection, this may be wrong. Greedo's ability is a Before ability. I actually think the Greedo player wins.

What if you have 2 Greedo players?

G1 dies and his effect goes off which kills G2, at that point G1 is resolved and leaves the queue and G2 wins.

Edited by Amanal

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On ‎1‎/‎17‎/‎2018 at 12:10 PM, jcangel said:

Actually, upon reflection, this may be wrong. Greedo's ability is a Before ability. I actually think the Greedo player wins.

Yes, this the Obi-Wan Hermit scenario all over again.

~D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...