Jump to content
Vineheart01

He Who Claims vs Ground Battalion

Recommended Posts

Unless im blind im not seeing in the rules that the person that actually claims takes first turn next round, only the person that controls it.
I also do not see anything preventing card effects from taking the battlefield after someone claims, with the exception of actually claiming normally.

05060.jpg

This simply feels...wrong. Lets say my opponent claims and i still havnt activated this guy yet. I activate him and take control of the battlefield, and while i dont get the claim ability i still have control of it so i go first next round.

I must be missing something that hands it back to the person that claimed....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Claiming is not the only option to take control of battlefied. We have this mechanic since SOR and EAW let's you claim even if your opponed has claimed before you.

02063.jpg03125.jpg

I used to play Krynnic/Death Trooper and Lockdown was a great card against faster decks that claimed before me.

s-l225.jpg

And now with Hasty Exit from Legacies we have reverse effect of giving control of battlefield.

Edited by NetCop

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 minutes ago, Amanal said:

Your opponent could just hang back and wait until you activate the Ground Battalion.

But then you can do everything you want, and then you get to choose whether you want the battlefield and claim ability or to roll in your ground batallion. It gives you a nice little win-win. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, PeoplesChampion said:

But then you can do everything you want, and then you get to choose whether you want the battlefield and claim ability or to roll in your ground batallion. It gives you a nice little win-win. 

In some regards this is a question on tempo, your opponent rushed through his turns and has nothing left to do except claim the battlefield. If you play a fast tempo and your opponent slows it all down, if you don't adjust whose fault is that?

As your opponent I am trying to engineer a win-win situation, aren't you doing the same back?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, PeoplesChampion said:

But then you can do everything you want, and then you get to choose whether you want the battlefield and claim ability or to roll in your ground batallion. It gives you a nice little win-win. 

I mean, it's a 4-cost support. I expect something that's that big an investment to be able to give me good options and/or my opponent bad ones.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/13/2018 at 5:43 AM, Vineheart01 said:

Unless im blind im not seeing in the rules that the person that actually claims takes first turn next round, only the person that controls it.
I also do not see anything preventing card effects from taking the battlefield after someone claims, with the exception of actually claiming normally.

05060.jpg

This simply feels...wrong. Lets say my opponent claims and i still havnt activated this guy yet. I activate him and take control of the battlefield, and while i dont get the claim ability i still have control of it so i go first next round.

I must be missing something that hands it back to the person that claimed....

And since when controllin a battlefield is such a crucial matter? Claim ability - ok, it can be impactfull but controll itself? In clutch situations yes, but 80% of the time it is kind of irrelevant.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Vitalis said:

And since when controllin a battlefield is such a crucial matter? Claim ability - ok, it can be impactfull but controll itself? In clutch situations yes, but 80% of the time it is kind of irrelevant.

There are a number of cards that can only be played if you control the battlefield; a lot of decks write these cards off because they're outright slow decks that know they won't claim, or they're mid-speed decks that aren't sure they can and don't want to be stuck with a dead card. Something like this can change the math and make talking a second look at duck cards worthwhile; it can also be useful by denying such cards to opposing decks that thought claiming was a safe thing.

 

In addition, especially mid-to-late game, going first means resolving first, which means using dice on a character before your opponent can kill them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Seems pretty relevant in a four wide villain support deck that has 32 hit points and can reliably play dug in.  Plus using your own battle field of Weapons factory alpha effectively means this four cost support gives you an extra resource every round.

Sure if you're just looking at it in the context of a fast aggro deck its rubbish but there is more than one way to skin a loth cat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...