Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Hoss-Drone

Maul ability

Recommended Posts

42 minutes ago, Vitalis said:

Its an effect caused by the card :D

I only ask because the argument made to me was basically,  if dice can have inherent dice effects, doesn't that imply that resolving a die creates a die effect and a card effect is only cards played from hand and character abilities? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Card effects are something that is done as the result of a card specifically, not the die from a card.

Example: Honor Guard -> Action: Discard this support and remove 1 die showing damage (R/M). That is a card effect and would trigger Maul's ability
Example2: DT-29 Heavy Blaster Pistol -> Special: Remove a die showing a resource cost. This will NOT trigger Maul's ability because its a die special removing his die, not a card effect.

As per faq: Maul’s ability does not trigger if a special ability on a die removes his dice because special abilities are inherent dice abilities, not card effects

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For Guardian Characters I also believe that Maul's ability kicks in and can be used after the Character who used Guardian rolls in his/her die. In other words, if there are no dice in pool prior to triggering Guardian, Maul still can use his ability to remove the Guardian Character's die.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You got Die abilities and Card abilities and then table flipping abilities followed by being escorted out of the building abilities. Be mindful of which ability you are using and if you really should use that ability. Guardian may not be the best way to go with Maul.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, jcangel said:

For Guardian Characters I also believe that Maul's ability kicks in and can be used after the Character who used Guardian rolls in his/her die. In other words, if there are no dice in pool prior to triggering Guardian, Maul still can use his ability to remove the Guardian Character's die.

I'm not convinced it works that way. I guess it comes down to when the activation enters the queue. Does it enter as soon as you say you're going to activate or when you actually activate the character? Is Guardian a part of the activation and this you have to fully resolve it before Maul's ability resolves?

Guardian is a before ability, so it happens and then triggers Maul's ability, which will enter the queue. Is it before or after activate is in the queue? I'm not sure.

 

 

Edited by netherspirit1982

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, robguyday said:

Guardian triggers Maul's ability, per the wording on guardian.

Are you responding to me? Did you even read my post? I know it triggers Maul's ability.

My question is in regards to jcangel saying that Maul could remove the Guardian character's die, I don't think he can, but I'm unsure about the timing and when everything would enter the queue.

Whether Maul can remove the Guardian characters die depends on when/if Activaction enters the queue, if it's before or after Maul's ability enters the queue.

Edited by netherspirit1982

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No Maul cant hit a die on a character with Guardian due to the timing.

Guardian specifically happens before the character actually activates, and until they activate their dice are not rolled out yet.

However Maul doesnt specify it has to be a specific character/support die so long as there ARE dice out there, he can immediately kill one as a result of Guardian taking his out.

edit: i retract this, thinking xwing here not destiny.

Theres also a faq relevant to this:

 

What happens when an after ability triggers off of a before

ability, and there is another after ability in the queue?

After abilities enter a queue and wait their turn to resolve.

If an after ability triggers during the resolution of any other

ability, it will resolve after that ability and any other after

ability already in the queue.

 

So Maul can ... Maul the Guardian's dice.

Edited by Vineheart01

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maul's ability is an after effect....that means it enters the queue at the end of everything already in the queue.  The sequence would look like this:

Player A:  Activate Maul (to make sure his dice are in the pool)

Player B:  Activate Guardian Character.  Before ability on Guardian triggers, removing a Maul character or upgrade dice.  Maul's ability triggers, entering the queue after everything that's already there.  The only thing in the queue is the Guardian Character's activation.  Resolve that activation (roll Guardian Character's dice.  Maul's ability now resolves, meaning the Guardian Character's dice are in the pool and eligible to be removed.

You don't have to specify the target die of Maul's ability when it is triggered....you do that when the ability resolves.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, netherspirit1982 said:

Are you responding to me? Did you even read my post? I know it triggers Maul's ability.

My question is in regards to jcangel saying that Maul could remove the Guardian character's die, I don't think he can, but I'm unsure about the timing and when everything would enter the queue.

Whether Maul can remove the Guardian characters die depends on when/if Activaction enters the queue, if it's before or after Maul's ability enters the queue.

Did you read my post?

i was agreeing with you and throwing my two cents in.

 

furthermore I agree that Maul gets to remove the guardians Die

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The one i really want to know is Doubt on Maul or things like Negotiate. The effect was done by an opponents card but the person removing the die is mauls controller. Doubt for sure doesn't trigger if they choose the resolve part but the remove part im not 100% on. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...