Jump to content
greghouse

who is winner?

Recommended Posts

At status phase we return strategy card.
We begin agenda phase,
two player have 9VP made a transaction. They give support for the throne cards with each other.

Question: Who is winner?
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Its not a perfect science with the rules reference but rule 87.8 I think clears it up somewhat.

87.8 If the game ends because the speaker cannot reveal an objective card, the player with the most victory points is the winner. If one or more players are tied for having the most victory points, the tied player who is first in initiative order is the winner.

Its a reference to revealing objectives, but the second sentence I think would apply, if there is a tie, the player who has the highest initiative wins.  Circumstances of the way the tie was achieved are different but I think the ruling would be the same.

 


 

Edited by BigKahuna

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

43.1 Initiative order is determined by the initiative numbers on strategy cards.

Agenda phase no players has strategy card because all players return strategy card at Status phase

How do you know initiative order in agenda phase ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, greghouse said:

43.1 Initiative order is determined by the initiative numbers on strategy cards.

Agenda phase no players has strategy card because all players return strategy card at Status phase

How do you know initiative order in agenda phase ?

hmm that's a really good point.  Yeah I don't see anything in the rules reference anywhere that addresses this at all so I think this is a question for FFG to answer.  

Typically there is no precedence for a shared victory, the term does not appear in any rule-book (TI3 or TI4).   TI3 was setup in a way that there was no way to score points between the end of the status phase and the Strategy phase.  So this is an entirely new thing.

I think it goes to house rules, but I would say if two players are satisfied with sharing a victory in this way, I suppose the empire is divided.  Else I would say you keep playing until the tie is broken, so in the next strategy phase whoever has the lowest initiative would win I suppose.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If I recall correctly, you only ever check for Victory somewhere in the beginning of the Status phase.

So in the case at hand, the player able to pick the lowest initiative and keep all 10 points all the way to the Status Phase would be the winner, effectivley screwing the other player over.

Edited by Fnoffen

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, Fnoffen said:

If I recall correctly, you only ever check for Victory somewhere in the beginning of the Status phase.

So in the case at hand, the player able to pick the lowest initiative and keep all 10 points all the way to the Status Phase would be the winner, effectivley screwing the other player over.

You can obtain victory points during the Action Phase in certain circumstances. Don’t the rules say victory is declared as soon as 10 is reached? I’ll check after I post this.

In the original example, I think it would be a matter of who could get the best initiative during the Strategy Phase. So, whoever was first to select a strategy card would win, or if the Winnu were involved, they would win automatically. 

Edit: I checked. Per the deluxe rule book, page 20, the game ends immediately when one player reaches 10 vp. Ties go to initiative order, which means the tied player first in the initiative order (which is still in effect during the Assembly Phase) is the winner. 

Edited by Caliban

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think the answer is obvious. At the time when there are no strategy cards on hand, the order of players is counted clockwise, starting with the speaker. This is logical again, when you start the next strategic phase, the player sitting to the speaker (or the speaker himself), and take a more advanced strategy card. So, the one who is sitting closer to the speaker, or the speaker himself, will be the winner in the described case.

Edited by GromSky

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Quote

Hello,

Thanks for your question regarding TI4. In regards to the scenario you have depicted, the player that closest to the speaker going clockwise would win the game.
Let me know if you have any further questions,
–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
Dane Beltrami
Game Developer

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...