Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Space warrior

Defensive teaching?!!

Recommended Posts

Quick rules query. I have a character in play with 4 shields due to defensive teaching defensive teaching is then removed from play does my character lose a shield? In the rules it says a character can only have 3 shields but the second line says if you again additional beyond 3 they are lost. The shield would already have being gained but the trigger allowing the forth is gone? Help 

Edited by Space warrior

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Same as for Training.  You only get the bonus while the card granting the bonus is in play.  If you lose Defensive Teaching, you can no longer have 4 shields.  Any characters with 4 shields after DT is removed must lose a shield.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, kingbobb said:

Same as for Training.  You only get the bonus while the card granting the bonus is in play.  If you lose Defensive Teaching, you can no longer have 4 shields.  Any characters with 4 shields after DT is removed must lose a shield.

Well....Training is not the best example here. We have absolutely NO idea what happens when training is removed - character is determined as elite as deckbuilding and that is only effect in a game that can tamper with elite/nonElite state. And we know that elite is a state that does not require any special upkeep as characters are elite just cause they became that at building of the deck - trained chars become elite at gameplay and there is nothing saying that Training leaving the game makes char non elite again. We MAY presume it does (or no) but no support in rules.

DT on the other hand clearly breaks the rules from RR hence removing it creates illegal state that need to be correctec. 

Edited by Vitalis

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

this is one of those odd rules where common sense isnt part of the actual ruling.

Logic would dictate: Max is reduced, must discard to new Max if you were above it somehow (eg 4shields to 3shields max)
However looking through the rules there is not a single instance referring to a character having 3+ shields EXCEPT when giving them more shields. Nothing refers to what happens if they had more than 3 shields because of a card effect allowing them to that went away.

Currently, no it does not force you to discard the shield as there is no instance in the rules telling you to do so - only to "ignore any excess shields" when assigning them. I'd say i'd be surprised to see FFG not faq it to make you remove the extra shield, but FFG tends to rule weirdly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

*sigh*

3 hours ago, Vineheart01 said:

Currently, no it does not force you to discard the shield as there is no instance in the rules telling you to do so

You mean aside from the rule saying that a character cannot have more than 3 shields? It doesn't have to specify that excess shields are discarded because its very very very cut and dry.

 

 

 

Edited by Stu35

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, Stu35 said:

*sigh*

You mean aside from the rule saying that a character cannot have more than 3 shields? It doesn't have to specify that excess shields are discarded because its very very very cut and dry.

 

 

 

I sense you're wasting you're time fighting this; I get you tho.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, Stu35 said:

You mean aside from the clear RRG entry that points out that a die is set aside?

No need to start every post with ironic "You mean aside from"....

If Training is covered in RR then ignore my post, i missed that one.

Edited by Vitalis

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

FFG is actually pretty consistent on this. You are following rules when you placed the shields. It say excess shields are not given, but nothing that you discard ones in play.  I see redeploy and sith holocron and other similar cards that allow you to ignore a restriction, leave play, and don’t have their effect undone. 

But yeah, once damage is blocked, you’re back down to the 3 threshold 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No that's different because its health

Plastoid Armor increases your max by 1. If you dont have it, your max isnt increased by 1.

The reason this is not removing the excess shield when the max is reduced is because you actually can be at that max before it changed again. If your health is 7, armor buffed it to 8, youre alive - but if you lose the armor your health max drops down to 7 and WHOOPS you're at max damage you dead brah.

Plastoid Armor does absolutely nothing until youre at the last thread of your life, defensive teachings does do something before getting that low

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, derekstanggt said:

Just to piggyback off this topic, I want to be sure I'm playing Defensive Teaching correctly.  If I have two copies played, I can have a total of 5 shields per blue character, correct?  

Yep.

Should you lose one then back to 4, and maybe remove a shield here and there as needed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, derekstanggt said:

Oh that's dirty for 0 resources. 

And 2 deck slots and 2 actions to play them both, and your opponent is unlikely to let you get 5 shields on someone.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...