RunnerAZ

Upcoming First Regional

In the next 2 weeks, I will be attending my first regional since I started playing X-Wing.  Aside from checking out list juggler for common lists and figuring out my turn 0 rock placement, what are some good tips? (And if anyone is willing to share, what are the boogeyman lists that I should figure out a plan for before I get there)

1 minute ago, Jeff Wilder said:

You need a way to deal with Harpoon Missiles spam.  To a lesser extent, you need a way to deal with multiple Auzitucks.

Other than that, from what I've seen, the meta is wide open right now.

Isn't most of the Harpoon Spam either:

• 3 Nu's with LRS, Harpoons, and QD wingman? or
  • 2 Imp Aces at PS11 with Harpoons and a Nu?

Anything I am missing?

There a ton of non-imperial lists that use harpoons. Just about anything with missiles will have them basically. So expect to see harpoons on Nym, Sol Six, Miranda, Z-95s, Kimogilias, Khiraxzzezeszs, etc

The best advice I received before my first major tournament was this...

DO NOT JOUST ALL THE THINGS

Complicated stuff I know, but unless you have a clear advantage or can create one its typically a mistake.

tumblr_nck49lRrak1qbcwz6o1_500.gif

Edited by Boom Owl

Prepare for a long day. Bring a refillable bottle of water, and some form of protein snacks for between rounds.

Sit whenever possible. Your knees will thank you later, especially if you're on the bigger side.

Practice with your list as much as possible. Know what you're weak against, and try to get some ideas going in on how to mitigate those weaknesses.

Pack light. Don't bring your entire collection with you, since table space will likely be at a premium. Ships, cards, tokens, dice, obstacles, templates, and a damage deck are all you really need, along with a way to carry them between rounds. That said...