Jump to content
RARodger

Defending armies that aren't attacked

Recommended Posts

I couldn't find confirmation on this in the rules, which surprised me. If you play an army or navy to defend a province that then doesn't get attacked, I assume you remove that combat token at the end of the battle step. But I didn't see something that explicitly states that. Did I miss it? Are you meant to leave the combat token there until it's part of the battle?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not explicitly stated, but page 10 mentions that if you placed units to defend a province and it is not attacked the province is considered successfully defended, which is one result of a battle. So from that I think it’s fair to say in this situation you gain a defense bonus and still discard the combat token(s) involved.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 12/15/2017 at 3:40 AM, TheSpitfired said:

Not explicitly stated, but page 10 mentions that if you placed units to defend a province and it is not attacked the province is considered successfully defended, which is one result of a battle. So from that I think it’s fair to say in this situation you gain a defense bonus and still discard the combat token(s) involved.

This was asked over on the BGG forums as well, and the consensus was precisely this. Not to mention that this was the answer provided by Tom Jolly in the thread as well.

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1901772/cleaning-combat-tokens-defense

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, puntspeedchunk said:

This was asked over on the BGG forums as well, and the consensus was precisely this. Not to mention that this was the answer provided by Tom Jolly in the thread as well.

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1901772/cleaning-combat-tokens-defense

Ha, same user name on both sites. Technically this is a double post! :P

Curious that Tom Jolly actually answered. FFG has some policies that request designers and developers don’t do that, unless Jolly doesn’t work directly for FFG. Not complaining though, cool that he answered!

Edited by TheSpitfired
Cleaned up the grammar

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...