Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Grand Master Luke Skywalker

Trooper Point Cost

Recommended Posts

As mentioned above. There is a number under the unit type symbol showing how many models the card is worth.

In the case of basic troopers it's 4 on both sides. Through the upgrade icons on the left of the card we can only expand that to 6 (+1 basic and +1 heavy/specialist).

A fully kitted 6 man squad falls somewhere in the 70-90 point range, depending on side and options

 

Edit: for completeness, a rebel is worth 10 and a stormie worth 11 points individualy....

Edited by Ralgon

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
54 minutes ago, Funk Fu master said:

Squads can get to 7. One extra normal, one heavy and one special

Hence why you get 7 in an expansion box

No, you have a choice between 2 heavy (anti infantry vs anti armor).

https://swlegioncommand.wordpress.com/rebel-units/


https://swlegioncommand.wordpress.com/upgradecards/

Check the cards again....... The other 2 icons are for equipment (so far only targeting scopes/grappling hooks and concussion/impact grenades). Unless there's been a printing change i'm unaware of there is no "special" upgrade icon unless it's going to replace the +1 trooper. I will admit there is wriggle room to change this (text on the +1 trooper card but with multiple extra models) but with what we have 6 is the limit

Edited by Ralgon

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From what we know about the cards in the coresets you van indeed only add one special weapon trooper (and one extra standard trooper).

But the example diagrams shown in the articles often show two special weapons in a squad. So that might be a mistake, or an option we get (later).

Adding more basic troopers by "add # trooper" cards is something I speculated might be done with a small extra trooper expansion including those cards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
35 minutes ago, Egilius said:

From what we know about the cards in the coresets you van indeed only add one special weapon trooper (and one extra standard trooper).

But the example diagrams shown in the articles often show two special weapons in a squad. So that might be a mistake, or an option we get (later).

Adding more basic troopers by "add # trooper" cards is something I speculated might be done with a small extra trooper expansion including those cards.

There hasn't been an xwing article in years without at least 1 mistake (several concerning rule errors), so forgive me if that doesn't have me convinced. I will conceed they do show 7 model units and this may be a source of contention until we have more info.

Edited by Ralgon

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mate, from the Rebel trooper article, I quote

"The Rebel Troopers Unit Expansion features a full unit of seven Rebel Trooper miniatures, identical to the Rebel Troopers included in the Star Wars: Legion Core Set"

its 7. Every picture and diagram and text refers to 7 troopers

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 12/14/2017 at 3:20 AM, Grand Master Luke Skywalker said:

Is the cheapest unit we have Rebel Troopers at 40pts?
It seems odd for it to be so high. Luke (160pts) is apparently only as strong as 4 Rebel Troopers, and Vader is only as strong as 5.
Shouldnt we be seeing troopers more around the 5-25 mark? Or at least heroes around the 400+ mark?

Any game where the cards show a squad and then points the points are ALWAYS for the squad as a whole not per. So if Rebel Troopers are 40 for the Squad then they are 10 Points a piece. Which would make sense as the Stormtrooper card that adds just A Trooper, arguably better than a Rebel Trooper cannon wise, is 11 Points. No way is a single Rebel worth as much as almost 4 Stormtroopers. Which means with Luke at 160 he is equal to about 16 Troopers or 4 squads of them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Funk Fu master said:

Mate, from the Rebel trooper article, I quote

"The Rebel Troopers Unit Expansion features a full unit of seven Rebel Trooper miniatures, identical to the Rebel Troopers included in the Star Wars: Legion Core Set"

its 7. Every picture and diagram and text refers to 7 troopers

Never go by what the Articles say, they have been wrong on more occasions then I can count. Looking at the cards there are two additional "Trooper Slots". One of these corresponds to the add X Trooper, Rebel of Storm. The other matches the symbol on both versions of the Heavy Trooper. 

Also you have to read some articles in "Marketing" speak to understand what they mean". What they mean by a FULL unit is not that you can use all the models at once, but that you have all the possible configurations of said unit that are possible.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Pausing the spanish unboxing video at 3:25 shows the contents of the core box, and each squad is made up of 7 minis. There is a lot of evidence showing full squad makup is 7, and only conjecture over what the symbols mean saying thats not possible.

****, it could be that the squad number value on the card could mean "Squad leader + this amount of troops"

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Funk Fu master said:

Pausing the spanish unboxing video at 3:25 shows the contents of the core box, and each squad is made up of 7 minis. There is a lot of evidence showing full squad makup is 7, and only conjecture over what the symbols mean saying thats not possible.

****, it could be that the squad number value on the card could mean "Squad leader + this amount of troops"

 

 

This is why in other games with Leaders in squads it is ALWAYS listed as 1 Leader+ X Troopers. Im betting the 4 base Troopers include the Leader, meaning the end number will be a max of 6 to a squad. Someone needs to e-mail this to FFG so they can either fix it on the cards and list it as 1 Leader+ X, not likely to happen as the stuff is very likely already made, or we at least know before launch that that is how it works.

 

Edit: Just sent FFG a Question on whether it is 1 Leader and 4 Troopers or 1 Leader and 3 Troopers. Also asking that it is just 1 Additional Trooper and 1 Special/Heavy per unit. Will post the full response when I get it.

Edited by GamerGuy1984

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
54 minutes ago, Funk Fu master said:

Pausing the spanish unboxing video at 3:25 shows the contents of the core box, and each squad is made up of 7 minis. There is a lot of evidence showing full squad makup is 7, and only conjecture over what the symbols mean saying thats not possible.

****, it could be that the squad number value on the card could mean "Squad leader + this amount of troops"

 

 

It's not conjecture, it's how ffg does things.

 

unit number being 4 mini's + squad commander doesn't work, because you still have the +1 basic trooper card (according to you with that theory, you'll be able to get to 8). The force power on Luke and Vader already tell us it's 1 card per icon (multiple force power with Luke having less available than vader) and the new article lists the upgrade icons on the rebel troop cards. We already have the z6 and ion trooper cards out there in the wild and they share the heavy icon, it's one or the other.

It's 6, with 2 choices on the heavy. The writer monkeys on the article got it wrong with the diagrams (which is nothing new) and of course the pics in the book show all the mini's (hint, that's just a contents shot).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, Ralgon said:

It's not conjecture, it's how ffg does things.

 

unit number being 4 mini's + squad commander doesn't work, because you still have the +1 basic trooper card (according to you with that theory, you'll be able to get to 8). The force power on Luke and Vader already tell us it's 1 card per icon (multiple force power with Luke having less available than vader) and the new article lists the upgrade icons on the rebel troop cards. We already have the z6 and ion trooper cards out there in the wild and they share the heavy icon, it's one or the other.

It's 6, with 2 choices on the heavy. The writer monkeys on the article got it wrong with the diagrams (which is nothing new) and of course the pics in the book show all the mini's (hint, that's just a contents shot).

Bingo, your likely exactly right. But as I said above Ive sent it to FFG earlier so we will know for sure once I get a response. Though your 90% likely to be right that the 4 includes the Leader.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Funk Fu master said:

Its also fairly obvious its going to be 7 as the core box gets 2 squads of 7 each side.

A core beginner set is not going to give you models that you cant field all of when playing the game out of the box. No other ffg mini game does that

Can we make a bet on it? If you can field 7, I will purchase you 2 expansions and if you can only field 6 units, you buy me 2 expansions?  I’ve read and watched a lot and see nothing to lead me to believe you can field 7 troopers in one squad.

Edited by ninclouse2000

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah I think it is obvious that you have a choice to field a basic 4 man squad with the ability to add 1 trooper and 1 heavy specialist for a maximum of 6. The way I see it, you have to choose between anti-armor or anti-infantry (or others in future expansions). I like this option since it allows you to have more flexibility in creating your armies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Funk Fu master said:

A core beginner set is not going to give you models that you cant field all of when playing the game out of the box. No other ffg mini game does that

No other FFG mini game is a platoon-scale squad-based infantry game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The trooper sets come with 7 minis. 5 regulars and 2 specials. The cards we know of that add units are: add regular, add specialist and add specialist. Thats 3. 7-3=4 the cards has a 4 just like the speeder bikes say 2. If it was leader + number on card then it would say 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why is this argument happening?

 

Check out this card:swl01_combat_daiagram.jpg

It states that there's 4 figures in a squad in the upper right-hand corner. The upgrade bar has a symbol for a specialist and an additional trooper (which we've seen on the corresponding cards). Why would the number of figures be 7?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Because the core set comes with 2 squads of 7. I would be disappointed if I cant field every model out of the box in a starter game

Because the expansion comes with a  "full squad" of seven. Same point above but for an expansion.

swl05_spread.png

swl01_photo_stormtrooper-squad3.jpg

Because in a lot of imagry and diagrams, they show squads of 7

swl01_a4_attack_daiagram.jpg

swl01_a4_move_daiagram1.jpg

I can understand one or two errors, its ffg, but not to this level

That is enough evidence for reasonable doubt. Yes there is conflicting information, hence this "discussion"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Agreed, not sure why there is a debate either. You have room for one additional trooper and one extra specialist, ether the  Z-6  or MPL-57 ION trooper for the rebels. For the Empire,

you have one additional trooper and and a specialist, of which you can choose between the DLT-19 or the HH-12. You can't have 2 specialist in a squad, you have to choose one. 

 

I can however see where there might be confusion based on some of the articles and published images that have come out. 

Edited by OldSchoolEmpire

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

His is quite simple. Seven models come in a box. 5 troopers and two heavy choices. At max you can have 6 units. They give you both options for heavy so you don’t have to choose which one you want to make like in other miniature games. The pics with 7 they’re show casing what comes in the kit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tbh, the rules examples muddy the waters, so I can see both sides. Those aren't marketing shots....those are rules situations featuring 2 specialists per squad.

I guess we will wait and see, like with many over things. I suspect it'll be 6, but wouldn't b shocked either way.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...