Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Warzgaroth

Question about huge ships with two damage pools

Recommended Posts

When you have a huge ship where each section has it's own health pool, what happens when one section (let's say the fore secton) is destroyed and:

 

1) another huge ship has a head-on collision with the destroyed section? Is no face up damage card assigned for the destroyed section, or is a face up card assigned to the other section?

2) the huge ship overlaps a small/large ship with it's destroyed section? Does the huge ship still rolls one/two attack die for damage or not?

3) the huge ship overlaps an obstacle with it's destroyed section ? Is a face up damage card assigned to the other section or not at all?

4) an enemy ship tries to attack the aft section but when tracing a line from the center of the base of the attacking ship to the center of the base of the aft section, this line would cross the blue line separating the two sections? Is it still not possible to attack the aft section even though the fore is already destroyed?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Quote

Crippled sections cannot be targeted and cannot suffer damage.

  • It doesn't say they can't be hit by 'everyone at range 1/overlapped by/turning left suffers X effect' abilities, and they are emphatically still in play (they can even shoot), so you can still collide with them.
  • however, they can't suffer damage.
  • There is no permission for damage to 'carry over' to the other section, so it doesn't. If the obstacle or other ship hit the other section as well, fine, but if it didn't, damage doesn't cross over.
  • This can create a situation where a fighter in front of the ship can only 'see' the damaged section, and as such whilst it can shoot, it can only shoot a section which cannot suffer damage. It is not possible to attack 'through' the front, because the 'shots cannot cross the line separating sections' rule does not go away when a section is crippled.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Note that, per the Overlapping section of the huge ship rules, the damage suffered by a huge ship when it overlaps a small or large ship is always suffered by the fore section, regardless of which section actually overlapped. (It's pretty easy to overlap a ship with your aft section with one of those epic fishtail banks.)

Damage from overlapping another huge ship is applied to the section that overlapped.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...