Jump to content
player3045051

Question: jarem tolk on "at the forge" quest of "dragon' a lair" campaign"

Recommended Posts

Hello, my question is: in "at the forge" quest of dragon's lair campaign, can jorem tolk be affected by monster' s abilities while he has the fatigue and so he is under the overlord control ? I demand cause our overlord, while jorem have the fatigue, used the ability "burrow" of plague worms to place him on the lava square and defeat him. Can He do that ?

Edited by player3045051

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Using the plague worms to place him in the lava is 100% legal, since Jorem is treated as a figure.  However, a figure in lava is only defeated when it ends its activation in a lava square.  Does Jorem receive and activation (I don't have the quest book available)?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It says: "when Jorem Tolk has a fatigue, his miniature is under the control of the Overlord. When he is under the Overlord' s control, Jorem Tolk block the movement and line of sight but he cannot move, attack or be the target of attacks neither be subjected of their effects".  It does not specify abilities.

My doubt start in the next paragraph entitled "Free Jorem Tolk". It says :"When the fatigue is discarded, Jorem Tolk becomes a miniature under the heroes' control. Jorem Tolk is then considered as a hero miniature that can be the target and suffer the effects of attacks of monsters, of abilities and of Overlord's cards".

If Jorem Tolk is affected by them after he is set free, that does not involves that before Jorem cannot be affected by them ?

Edited by player3045051

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Legally, Jorem is not the target of 'burrow', nor is burrow an attack, so as long as Jorem is considered a 'figure' then the Burrow is legal.  However, Jorem would only take one damage from entering the lava space.  If Jorem has a fatigue, he is 'under the OL control', however since it doesn't sound like he can take an activation, then he would not end his activation in a lava space, and would therefore not be defeated by ending his activation in that space.

If there is anything Jorem can do as an activation, then he would die from the lava.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jorem can activate when "under the OL control", to perform a special forge action. The rules say "when activating Jorem Tolk while under his control, the Overlord may perform a special forge action."

It means that Jorem activates while under the OL control. So, he would die from the lava. Am I correct???

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That would make the OL win on turn one with the heroes having only one minimal chance of preventing it (almost none if the OL fills his deck with web traps, pit trap, no rest for the wicked, dark fortitudes or imploding rifts): kill every plague worm on their first turn.

If you play the Lair of the Wyrm mini-campaign with these rules, you should also play with the official rule that all quest information is revealed to the heroes before the start of the campaign and explain them that ending. This way, either they won't waste their time on a campaign they know they'll lose, or take up the challenge and try to build a very specific hero group that would be able to have a chance in this situation.

Rather than allowing such a turn 1 win, I would suggest adding to the rules that while under the OL control, Jorem Tolk cannot be moved by any means. Sometimes you just have to ask yourself the basic question: "Is this quest playable with these rules?"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My interpretation of this is Jorem can't be targeted by the OL by anything while he has fatigue. Abilities weren't specifically listed, but I doubt it was intended that you could still use them. Short of submitting this question to FFG you're not going to get a better answer.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×