Jump to content
spudmonkey

Looking for Clarification on Quest no. 152

Recommended Posts

in quest 152 "Drain the Swamp", both options require you to perform a quest action at a location that does not have any enemies within 2 spaces.  My gaming group got into an argument about whether that means active enemies or any enemies at all, and the rulebook provided no clear explanation.  Most of us came to the opinion that it must mean active enemies, as otherwise this quest would be near-impossible, but the rules don't say anywhere that inactive enemies aren't enemies, so we're looking for a rules clarification on this card.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not an official rules person, but I can explain how we have played it.

In our games, when an enemy is killed, we follow the rulebook and refill a space with a face down enemy of the same type. In the early game, it is especially common to refill the space that you are in with that face down tile. However, we can still adventure/camp there since there is no longer an enemy.

Based upon that logic, we'd say that face down tiles are just respawn markers and not enemies themselves.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Our group also is of the mind set that as enemy tiles can not be interacted with and don't hinder a player until they are active. The toke is there as a reminder that an enemy "could" spawn there. Agreed that this could be avoided with a simple FAQ answer that will probably occur later on.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, if you look at page 6 of the Rules Reference book under "Enemies", it says ,"Inactive enemies do not stop survivors from performing encounter, camp, or quest actions in the same space." It also says on page 11 of the Rules Reference under "Quest Action" , "Inactive enemies do not stop survivors from performing encounter, camp, or quest actions in the same space."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 12/13/2017 at 2:59 PM, Duntac said:

Actually, if you look at page 6 of the Rules Reference book under "Enemies", it says ,"Inactive enemies do not stop survivors from performing encounter, camp, or quest actions in the same space." It also says on page 11 of the Rules Reference under "Quest Action" , "Inactive enemies do not stop survivors from performing encounter, camp, or quest actions in the same space."

Couldn’t have said it better. We’ve only played 3 games so far and have had only a few questions, some of which have answered themselves through play. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 12/13/2017 at 1:59 PM, Duntac said:

Actually, if you look at page 6 of the Rules Reference book under "Enemies", it says ,"Inactive enemies do not stop survivors from performing encounter, camp, or quest actions in the same space." It also says on page 11 of the Rules Reference under "Quest Action" , "Inactive enemies do not stop survivors from performing encounter, camp, or quest actions in the same space."

This argument was raised, but the arguing party pointed out that since Inactive enemies are still referred to as "Enemies", And the quest card just refers to "Enemies within 2 spaces", that the referenced rule doesn't apply since even though they don't stop you from performing the quest action on the square, they do count as enemies within 2 spaces.  And unfortunately RAW he's not wrong.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...