Sign in to follow this  
Smashotron

Heart of the Empire - Story Progression?

After the introduction for HotE, it is possible that three Story missions (let's say, A, B, and C) are added into play. Eventually, my Rebels played one of those Story missions (C). At the end of the mission, they were required to pick one of two new Story missions (D or E) to put into play. 

The Rebels are under the impression that once they pick D or E, we would discard the previously un-played Story missions (A and B). There are no instructions to discard Story missions so I get the impression that they'll still have three Story missions in play; A, B, and D/E. They would then select one of those as normal when the next Story mission comes up.

For anyone that has tried HotE already, what is the proper process? This is my first time as IP and, per the HotE rules, I cannot read ahead to see if any future missions provide some clarity here. My Rebels are concerned that the missions are a chronological story and that choosing an older mission (A or B) would be out of sync. Anyone have any insight here?

Edited by Smashotron
Grammartrooper

No, you forego the missions you don't choose as each choice leads you down a specific story path (that way, the next time you play through the campaign you can, by simply leaving out the missions that were picked last time, get a completely different game experience).

Ah okay, did I miss something in the HotE or Core rules? Since the other Side mission remains in play when you choose one of two Side missions, I thought maybe the same applied to the Story missions. It was my logic that they have all these leads they need to chase down and they only have X Story mission slots to resolve these missions in.