Jump to content
TheWelcomeMat88

"After the attack" timing window

Recommended Posts

I feel like this is a dumb question, but here goes.

Say you are playing the Clawdite Shapshifter with the "Streetrat" form. The Clawdite has a surge for "Assassin's Blade" which states "After this attack resolves, choose an adjacent hostile figure and roll 1 red die (suffering dmg equal to the results." The command card "Hit and Run" is a special action which states "Perform an attack. After the attack resolves, you gain 3 movement points."

I'm assuming that since the movement is gained, and it does not state to actually move your figure 3 spaces, that the assassin's blade must trigger BEFORE the movement from hit and run can be utilized. Just wanted to clarify this anyone?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since they're both after the attack resolves, you would get to decide the order I think?

However, since it is your activation, the movement just goes in the movement point pool and then you would finish all the rest of the "after the attack resolves" triggers before you would have an opportunity to spend any movement points.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, DTDanix said:

Since they're both after the attack resolves, you would get to decide the order I think?

However, since it is your activation, the movement just goes in the movement point pool and then you would finish all the rest of the "after the attack resolves" triggers before you would have an opportunity to spend any movement points.

Yeah that was my assumption, so it sounds right to me, but just wanted to be sure. It would have been nice in the case for the forcedmovement to happen first for potential combos of course :) 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Spending movement points from the pool is a "during your activation" ability. You can't do it while resolving something else. If you have multiple abilities with the same trigger, you can choose their order. After you resolve one "after attack resolves" ability, you return to the same trigger and can resolve another "after attack resolves" ability. Once you resolve any ability with a different trigger though (such as suffering strain for mp or spending movement points), you're not at "after attack resolves" trigger anymore.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to clarify. During after the attack resolves, resolution order goes in order of initiative, not attacker first, then the defender right?

Edited by Szycha

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, Szycha said:

Just to clarify. During after the attack resolves, resolution order goes in order of initiative, not attacker first, then the defender right?

After-attack-resolves abilities has traditionally used the attack timing.

However, a recent ruling about what is "during an attack" puts that into question. The implications and how to resolve the situation are being discussed with FFG.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"If movement points are gained as part of a special action, they must be spent immediately during that action".

Doesn't this mean you can't bank the movement points you gain from Hit and Run and you have to either spend them immediately or lose them? Not sure how this would affect Assassin's Blade.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
34 minutes ago, brettpkelly said:

"If movement points are gained as part of a special action, they must be spent immediately during that action".

Doesn't this mean you can't bank the movement points you gain from Hit and Run and you have to either spend them immediately or lose them? Not sure how this would affect Assassin's Blade.

Hit and Run is a special action giving movement points. The movement points do not go into your movement point pool. You have to spend the movement points (or lose them) before you have resolved the special action.

However, it doesn't necessarily mean that you can/need to spend the gained movement points immediately when gaining them, only that you need to spend them during that special action after/before resolving other after-attack-resolves abilities. (Because the rule has "during that action".) (But probably does.)

Needs a little thought.

Edited by a1bert

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...