Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Orzed

RtL / general rules questions

Recommended Posts

After a few weeks of playing RtL with others, and also solo, I have some questions I can't find a definitive answer for. Some of these are no doubt answered somewhere, but I can't find that answer.

Please help, thank you.

 

All questions are Road to Legend-specific if that affects the answer.

 

REPLIES - REQUESTED FORMAT

Please reply without huge quotes of the questions to keep the post clean. Hopefully, "yes / no" answers are possible for all questions.

E.g. 
"Q1: No."
+ any supporting text.

There are currently 7 questions, questions 2 and 7 have more than one section.

"Q2-A: Yes"
+ any supporting text.
"Q2-B: "No"
 + any supporting text.

"Q3: No."
 + any supporting text.

etc. Thanks!

 

QUESTION 1 - FATIGUE RECOVERY TRIGGER

In general, the RtL rules support a zero figure as a valid result only for the purposes of targeting when based on figures without Attributes. However, an attack that causes zero damage is still a valid "hit" and surges can be spent. Surges can be spent even when the damage is zero.

(Unofficial FAQ)

Q: Can a hero... spend a surge to recover fatigue if there are no fatigue tokens on his hero sheet? 
A: The surge would be able to be spent regardless of whether or not the hero had suffered any fatigue.

Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/13687550#13687550
"The surge would be able to be spent regardless of whether or not the hero had suffered any fatigue. Thanks, Justin Kemppainen, Creative Content Developer, Fantasy Flight Games".

Q1: If a player with no fatigue tokens on their hero sheet spends a surge to "recover fatigue", and thus recovers zero fatigue, does this trigger other abilities that rely on "recover fatigue" as the requirement is triggered at a value of zero? 

E.g. Elder Mok's hero ability.

 

QUESTION 2 - RUNEMASTER'S RUNIC KNOWLEDGE AND SIMILAR EFFECTS


The key to the official response is that the fatigue suffered is "indirect" and not part of the "cost" of the "skill".


(Unoffcial FAQ)

Q: Can Runemaster hero use Runic Knowledge surge ability if he has no fatigue to suffer and suffer 1 damage instead?
A: Yes he can.

Source (1): https://boardgamegeek.com/article/13203575#13203575
"Justin Kemppainen wrote: Yes he can.  Thanks, Justin Kemppainen, Creative Content Developer, Fantasy Flight Games"

Source (2): https://boardgamegeek.com/article/20007611#20007611
"Rules question wrote: In 2013 someone on BoardGameGeek posted an apparant reply to a question submitted to you. 
In it, Justin Kemppainen is quoted as stating that a Runemaster can use the Runic Knowledge surge ability if he has no fatigue to suffer by suffering 1 damage instead. 
I'd like to verify if you (still) stand by that ruling. This because it seems to be in contradiction with the general rule that a hero can not (voluntarily) suffer fatigue to use skills if his fatigue already equals his stamina. 
Thanks for the help!

FFG reply wrote: Great question. It is true that fatigue cannot be voluntarily suffered if the fatigue is the cost to something else (such as a skill). 
In the case of Runic Knowledge, the surge is the cost to use that surge ability, and the suffering of a fatigue is an involuntary result, not part of the cost. 
So yes, a hero with Runic Knowledge could surge to use that ability, even while fatigued out, and then suffer a damage instead."
I hope this helps clear things up! Thanks for playing. Kara Centell-Dunk, Game Developer."

MAIN RULES PG 9 USE A SKILL

When using a skill, a hero cannot suffer fatigue that would exceed his Stamina. 

If a hero has already suffered fatigue equal to his Stamina, or if the skill would cause him to suffer more fatigue than his Stamina allows, he cannot use the skill until he recovers enough fatigue.

MAIN RULES PG 13 FATIGUE AND STAMINA

... When using skills or moving, a hero may only suffer fatigue up to an amount equal to his Stamina. 

If any other game effect forces a hero to suffer fatigue in excess of his Stamina, he instead suffers damage equal to the excess fatigue that would have been suffered....

COMMUNITY RULES PG 9 CHARACTERISTICS

Stamina

A figure cannot voluntarily suffer more fatigue than his Stamina value allows.

If any other game effect forces a figure to suffer fatigue in excess of his Stamina, it instead suffers damage equal to the excess fatigue it would suffer.

COMMUNITY RULES PG 13 FATIGUE

A hero cannot voluntarily choose to suffer fatigue if the amount of fatigue he has suffered would exceed his Stamina. 

If an effect forces a figure to suffer fatigue that exceeds his Stamina, he instead suffers 1 damage for each fatigue he cannot suffer.

COMMUNITY RULES PG 18 HERO ABILITY

A unique Hero ability are not considered to be a skill.

However, it is often confused with the term “hero abilities” in a general sense, which refers to all abilities on Class cards, Search cards, or Item cards of a hero.

 

OTHER APPLICATIONS OF THE "RUNIC KNOWLEDGE" RULING

Hero ability e.g. Sir Valadir. Not a "skill" as above, and does not require an action. There is no "cost" to activate the hero ability, which is also not a "skill". The hero ability has an "indirect" effect.

Q2-A, Abilities: If Sir Valadir has max fatigue can he suffer damage instead to generate a surge? 

- If "yes", it's assumed he can then use that surge to recover a fatigue, effectively trading one damage for one fatigue.
- As Steelcaster/Runemaster, it's also assumed he could instead suffer a damage to spend the surge on Runic Knowledge
So, for example (as a Steelcaster/Runemaster), if he hits max fatigue by using Blast he can use Runic Knowledge at a cost of two damage (one to add a surge, one to spend it).


Q2-B, Items: Bard's Lute (and similar items) - Exhausting an item that does not require an action is not "use of a skill or a move action", or a Special action. This is an "indirect" result of the use of Lute and does not "cost" anything. The Item has an "indirect" effect.

Can a Bard use the Lute at max fatigue and suffer a damage instead?  

 

From the Runic Knowledge answers, source (2): "the suffering of a fatigue is an involuntary result, not part of the cost". 

Q2-C, Triggers: Mordrog is a Steelcaster at max fatigue, has a surge, and uses Runic Knowledge to suffer one fatigue (as a damage, as per ruling) and uses that surge to add 2 damage to the attack.

Mordrog "suffers 1 or more damage" and therefore recovers one fatigue from his hero ability.

Correct?

 

QUESTION 3 - ZERO RESULT & TRIGGERS

UNOFFICIAL FAQ

Q: Andira Runehand's hero ability reads: "Each time you suffer 1 or more damage from an adjacent figure, that figure suffers 1 damage." If Andira has fatigue equal to her stamina and suffers fatigue due to an ability of an adjacent monster, say an leech ability (or a master cave spider's web ability), does the monster take 1 damage from Andira?
A: The damage in this case is suffered as the result of having suffered fatigue up to the hero's Stamina, so Andira Runehand's ability would not trigger.

Q3: This appears to be incorrect. In the situation described Andira is suffering fatigue beyond her stamina not "up to". Previously we've assumed the text above is incorrect.

Regardless, a recent question / nuance from my group that applies to other effects:

The damage trigger is not coming from the monster, but from a Hero sheet, so Andira's hero ability still does not trigger.

Correct?

 

 

QUESTION 4 - START OF TURN ORDERING

Q4: How are positives and negatives ordered?
- e.g. disease condition vs Knight Inspiration 

The global rule is "active player decides", so the Knight could decide to roll for Disease first, or (for example) if on max fatigue with one health remaining, use Inspiration first.

Is this assumption correct?

 

 

QUESTION 5 - ENCOUNTERS DO NOT APPLY IN THE RtL APP (DELVE / TRIALS)

Q5: Do encounter transitions apply to the app? The answer appears to be "no".

e.g. in a Delve, it's assumed only one heroic feat per Delve is allowed. Feats are not mentioned in the Act II transition. Same for Trials, one Feat per Trial.

Correct?

 

 


QUESTION 6 - MONSTERS AND CRUMBLING TERRAIN

Q6: What is monster behavior when adjacent to / on crumbling terrain? As per Community rules their ability scores "do not exist" apart from when establishing target. 

Therefore, monsters treat crumbling terrain as normal squares until the crumbling terrain is removed by a figure with ability stats that fails an ability test.

Correct?

 

 


QUESTION 7 - CLARIFY MONSTER AOE SKILLS & HALVING "SPLASH" DAMAGE  / "SECONDARY TARGETS"

NOTE: It is understood that skills or abilities with *separate attack targets* do not halve damage.

 

DESCENT MAIN RULES, PG 13 BLAST

On a Blast attack, all spaces adjacent to the targeted space are also affected by the attack. The attacker rolls his attack pool once and applies the result to each affected figure, but each affected individually rolls its defense pool separately. Only the target space needs to be in range and in line of sight of the attacker. Blast attacks affect both enemy and friendly figures, and a figure can only be affected by Blast once per attack.

Note: The usual term "figures" is also mentioned in RtL, here:

RtL PG 6 BLAST

When resolving an attack with the “Blast” keyword, all spaces adjacent to the targeted space are also affected by the attack. The attacker rolls his attack dice once and applies the full damage to the target enemy and half of the damage to figures adjacent to that space, rounded up. Each figure affected by the attack (including any friendly figures) roll their own defense dice.

 

However, this implies the rule benefit is biased towards monsters only:

RtL PG 8 ATTACKING MULTIPLE MONSTERS

When a hero performs an attack that targets or affects multiple monsters, the monsters gain an additional advantage when damage is dealt.

Choose 1 monster to which you will deal damage first and resolve the step as normal.  Then halve the damage results (rounded up), and apply that value to each of the additional ("secondary target") monsters, before applying damage. 

This rule applies to attacks with Blast but also actions such as “Whirlwind,” “Army of Death,” and Leoric of the Book’s Heroic Feat. 


Q7-A: Fire Breath, does the damage halve when applied to any valid "secondary target" figure that is not the original target, even Hero Figures?

Q7-B: Do hero figures halve secondary damage from a monster's Blast attack? E.g. Lava Beetle.

Q7-C: Is the halved damage for secondary targets affected by the same attack (dice) "splash damage", global? 

 

 

APPENDIX - RtL BUGS / BALANCING

Agent vs Lieutenant 

Recent Trial (Bear) act I Serena spawned - Serena does not have an Act I Lieutenant card, Agent only possible, so spawned agent.
Recent Trial (Bear) act II Alric Farrow spawned - no Lieutenant pack, therefore no Agent, so spawned Lieutenant.

The Trials do not specify Agent vs Lieutenant, at least that I've seen. The RtL Campaign rule is only spawn the Agent when the text says Agent. This could just be a Trials bug for any Lieutenant without Act I cards, and we should always spawn the Lieutenant (if possible).

Please clarify, thanks.


Dispossessed

Their activations need review in RtL Trials. Regular retreating, often out of Line of Sight, prevents use of their Ethereal Hold.

Edited by Orzed

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...