CitizenKeen

Requirements for CharGen App?

Okay, so, I'm a medium-caliber software dev, and I've been dinking around with a Genesys chargen site. Want to make sure I've got my ducks in a row for v1, so make sure I've got a good checklist for what a proper chargen package would need. Would love some feedback.

• Ability to choose all the basic things (Fear, Desire, etc.); free-form, etc.
  • Ability to manipulate Characteristics and Skills, knowing that some of part of the value for these come from a base Archetype/Career.
  • Ability to select and customize Gear and Spells/Powers, based on campaign rules.
  • Ability to select and customize Talents, based on prereqs and campaign rules. Allow for campaigns to define their own Talent trees.
  • Allow GMs to manage a campaign's rules, and to view/manage all characters in the campaign. Non-GM users would be able to manage their character in a campaign and view other characters in the campaign.
  • View character sheet in at-table-helpful form.
  • Mobile

What am I missing?

7 minutes ago, dlw32 said:

printable to pdf?

I can't think of anything else, but I also don't have the book yet, there may be some edge-case in there...

Printable to PDF is something I'd be excited to do. I anticipate many edge cases, but I think if I have the technology for the ones listed, I can add in new ones (like custom Archetype special abilities, etc.).

2 minutes ago, themensch said:

Is the intention for this tool to be the character sheet in play, or a record that's printed/etc for play?  

Yes.

Just now, themensch said:

This is probably a weird request but some sort of markdown/json/yaml export would be awesome.  I guess we could use xml too, but we might as well travel back in time then.  

Very doable (I'd say "easily doable" but that'd be hubristic). I'll add it to my feature list.

Just now, CitizenKeen said:

Yes.

Very doable (I'd say "easily doable" but that'd be hubristic). I'll add it to my feature list.