Schu81

Selflessness - more damage than hitpoints

11 posts in this topic

Hello there!

Scenario:

An A-Wing has got the "Selflessness" Elite Skill and is in range 1 to Poe.

Poe gets hit by a HUGE attack and there are still 6 hit results left after the compare dice step.

The A Wing pilot uses the "Selflessness" ability. How many damage will he take? All 6 and die? Just 4 and die, leaving 2 left for Poe?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just remember you don't remove a ship until the end of combat timing.... you have every opportunity to overkill a ship in normal play (1 Hull remain, and you still shoot twice with TLT) so accepting an overkill with selflessness is quite acceptable.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Page 9 of the Rulebook under Damage:

Quote
  • If a ship would be dealt more Damage cards than are needed to destroy it, those cards are still dealt. A ship that is kept in the play area by the Simultaneous Attack Rule is affected by all of its faceup Damage cards regardless of whether they are excess.

The A-wing is still dealt 6 damage cards even though only 4 are needed to destroy it.

Edited by Parravon

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/5/2017 at 9:40 PM, Parravon said:

Page 9 of the Rulebook under Damage:

The A-wing is still dealt 6 damage cards even though only 4 are needed to destroy it.

Actually the A-Wing only needs to be dealt two damage cards (one if if it's the right card) to be destroyed.

That still doesn't mean it couldn't be dealt 6 cards before actually leaving the table.

While it's technically correct to deal all of the extra damage cards the only time it is actually meaningful is when Kylo and his ISYTD condition are in play, unless I'm missing some new cards, or when some of those cards are face-up and can affect something else happening.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 minutes ago, ThisIsDavin said:

Its always meaningful, as it resequences the deck

@StevenO this^ the bypassed overkill cards could easily be the difference in many matches if they were dealt, especially if the removed major explosion on several double damages.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, StevenO said:

Actually the A-Wing only needs to be dealt two damage cards (one if if it's the right card) to be destroyed.

That still doesn't mean it couldn't be dealt 6 cards before actually leaving the table.

While it's technically correct to deal all of the extra damage cards the only time it is actually meaningful is when Kylo and his ISYTD condition are in play, unless I'm missing some new cards, or when some of those cards are face-up and can affect something else happening.

Yeah, you're quite right. Not sure where I got the 4 from? :D

All the cards are dealt in case the ship remains in play due to the Simultaneous Attack rule.

Edited by Parravon

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 11/7/2017 at 10:58 PM, Ralgon said:
On 11/7/2017 at 10:31 PM, ThisIsDavin said:

Its always meaningful, as it resequences the deck

@StevenO this^ the bypassed overkill cards could easily be the difference in many matches if they were dealt, especially if the removed major explosion on several double damages.

Random card are RANDOM cards.  If you are worried about one particular card you have as much chance at it being the first card drawn as the last card drawn.  Now KNOWING which cards have been removed from the deck does give you some information about what is still in the damage deck although it tells you NOTHING about which of the unknown cards in play or in the DD is what.  Besides that it's next to impossible to gain any real benefit from knowing there are three unaccounted for Direct Hits instead of four.

If not for ISYTDS the game would play 99.999% the same if you just used any kind of damage marker to represent completely unknown damage and only draw an actual card from the deck when it would be played face-up or if you need to "flip" a marker to know what it represents.

Yeah, you're quite right. Not sure where I got the 4 from? :D

All the cards are dealt in case the ship remains in play due to the Simultaneous Attack rule.

We all should know where the 4 came from but some seem to think you'd draw cards just to remove shield tokens as well.

While the Simultaneous Attack rule may come into play if it doesn't then there really is no point to even draw the otherwise needed damage cards except to remove them from ISYTDS's search pool.  Guess more revealed damage cards could also expose a "stacked" damage deck with illegal content but that should be taken care of at the start of the game by inspecting your opponent's damage deck before shuffling.

 

 

Edited by StevenO

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This in an xwing miniatures rules question in an xwing miniatures rules section of the forum, right?

Follow the rules.

Debate over what meaningless or possible... what the odds are or whether ISYTDS is in the game or not... none of these things truly matter more than simply following the rules. Just read Page 9 of the Rules Reference and follow them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now