HanScottFirst

Kylo/ISYTDS vs Draw Their Fire

6 posts in this topic

So,

Ship A has the ISYTDS condition, and suffers an uncancelled crit. However, friendly Ship B at range 1 of Ship A is equipped with Draw Their Fire (DTF).

What happens if...

1) Ship B has shields left. Does the Kylo crit go on the shields? Or does the ISYTDS crit (blinded pilot, etc.) now just shift to Ship B?

2) If there are 2+ uncancelled crits, can the defending player choose to use Draw Their Fire on Ship B for the Kylo crit (which I believe technically would be the first uncancelled crit), and then have the last crit as just a normal crit on Ship A?

Thoughts? Any official rulings?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll Show You The Dark Side doesn't trigger off an uncanceled [kaboom], it triggers off suffering critical damage. And it can only do its thing to the ship it's on. Under no circumstances will Ship B get the damage card from the ISYTDS on Ship A. The ISYTDS on Ship A will trigger on the first critical damage suffered by Ship A, which in your second case will be the one from the second uncanceled [kaboom], since the first one was drawn off by DTF.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, digitalbusker said:

I'll Show You The Dark Side doesn't trigger off an uncanceled [kaboom], it triggers off suffering critical damage. And it can only do its thing to the ship it's on. Under no circumstances will Ship B get the damage card from the ISYTDS on Ship A. The ISYTDS on Ship A will trigger on the first critical damage suffered by Ship A, which in your second case will be the one from the second uncanceled [kaboom], since the first one was drawn off by DTF.

If a crit (kaboom) isn't evaded and hits shields isn't that suffering critical damage? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, Stoneface said:

If a crit (kaboom) isn't evaded and hits shields isn't that suffering critical damage? 

If you have shields remaining, and have an uncancelled crit result, then you would suffer critical damage, and therefore it would trigger ISYTDS, which would deal it's damage card instead of removing a shield token. It's a bit like Proton Bombs, in that shields offer no defence to it.

Stoneface likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, Stoneface said:

If a crit (kaboom) isn't evaded and hits shields isn't that suffering critical damage? 

It is. But if a [kaboom] isn't evaded but is drawn away with Draw Their Fire, the critical damage isn't suffered by the ship that was hit by the attack.

Parravon, Sephlar and Stoneface like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now