Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Zaaik

Shield of Margath

9 posts in this topic

latest?cb=20170502191458

Do you have to survive a melee attack for this to trigger? Or will it still trigger on the death of the wielder?

I'm starting to think that "defending" implies that you've survived the attack.

Can anyone weigh in on this?

Edited by Zaaik

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah I thought the same, thanks for the clarification. Doesn't hurt to check these things!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, if for no other reason than Shield of Margath would have left play by the time the trigger condition is reached, it wouldn't work.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Looking at the order of combat , you are defending before the damage is calculated In fact I would say you are defending at the point you take defense into consideration. Ergo damage is caused after the roll (and rerolls) but before damage, so you would be able to get swansong damage on your opponent on a death blow

 

If not then you are inferring at no point before the damage is done are you actually defending and that defending occurs after the damage is done, which really doesnt make sense for a whole lot of other effects including applying your defense score itself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No. You become a defender during step 2 of combat (rule 10.2).

Shield of Margath specifically says AFTER defending. 85.8 tells us that this would be immediately after you defending, which I interpret as the moment you are no longer a defender, which would be the end of the attack. You are still a defender through step 11, so you can't deal the Shield of Margath any sooner than that, and damage is suffered in step 9,  so you can be defeated before you are done being a defender. At that point, your unit and upgrade cards are removed from the game, so there is no Shield of Margath left to trigger.

Parakitor, Tvayumat and Curlycross like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 minutes ago, Budgernaut said:

No. You become a defender during step 2 of combat (rule 10.2).

Shield of Margath specifically says AFTER defending. 85.8 tells us that this would be immediately after you defending, which I interpret as the moment you are no longer a defender, which would be the end of the attack. You are still a defender through step 11, so you can't deal the Shield of Margath any sooner than that, and damage is suffered in step 9,  so you can be defeated before you are done being a defender. At that point, your unit and upgrade cards are removed from the game, so there is no Shield of Margath left to trigger.

Sorry misread the card itself and thought it said "when defending" my mistake , nothing to see here , move along /blush

Curlycross likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
22 hours ago, Budgernaut said:

No. You become a defender during step 2 of combat (rule 10.2).

Shield of Margath specifically says AFTER defending. 85.8 tells us that this would be immediately after you defending, which I interpret as the moment you are no longer a defender, which would be the end of the attack. You are still a defender through step 11, so you can't deal the Shield of Margath any sooner than that, and damage is suffered in step 9,  so you can be defeated before you are done being a defender. At that point, your unit and upgrade cards are removed from the game, so there is no Shield of Margath left to trigger.

Lawyered. I had to double take to see it wasn't @Tvayumat...

 

22 hours ago, syrath said:

Sorry misread the card itself and thought it said "when defending" my mistake , nothing to see here , move along /blush

I know that feeling all too well...

Tvayumat likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0