Jump to content
xanderf

Soooo...new FAQ breaks the Punishing One retail kit?

Recommended Posts

6 minutes ago, codegnave said:

I know its a different game, but the Imperial Light Carrier in Armada actually shipped with upgrades that it couldn't use. It was mostly so each faction had access to the upgrade, but the precedent is there.

From another topic.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, codegnave said:

From another topic.

But, yeah, different game.

FFG has done that with a few of their others - Netrunner, too, I think, has sets that aren't self-contained 'legal'.

But that hasn't happened to X-Wing, before.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, xanderf said:

But, yeah, different game.

FFG has done that with a few of their others - Netrunner, too, I think, has sets that aren't self-contained 'legal'.

But that hasn't happened to X-Wing, before.

Yeah, the new Core set has 2 shaper cards that are on the Restricted List, thus shouldn't be played in the same deck. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Problem with adding the slots to the title is that Dengar—the most problematic pilot, if the last two worlds are any indication—is completely unaffected. 

 

What I really don’t get is why on earth they didn’t just change the points cost. At this point, it would’ve been infinitely simpler. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, defkhan1 said:

They can just put a torp and astro on the title. Problem solved.

That they didn't do this astonishes me.

Yeah, there's some powerful combos with the astromech still out there, but at least you're paying the price for them. Heck, even the dreaded Dengaroo is still nerfed - you can't torp up Manaroo, so the list firepower plummets, but you get to keep the fun combos... and, you know, the lore that Dengar gets to equip his own astromech.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The whole logic behind this post implies that you would only ever own this one ship,  and because of the changes, now you cant use everything it comes with.

Technically you could never make use of ALL the cards in the package for the Jumpmaster 5000, if that was the 1 and only ship you owned. If you only owned 1 Jumpaster, what were you going to put mindlink on there for? And even if you did, what were you planning to do with that other copy of the card? Why did you need 2 copies of Guidance Chips? Unless of course, you were planning to actually buy more ships than just this one.  And if the plan was to buy more than 1 Jumpmaster, 5 of the upgrades become useless in at least one of your purchases because they are unique cards and you can only ever field one of them anyway. 

If you were going to buy other ships besides the Jumpmaster, whats the problem?

If you were not planning to use the ship for competitive play, then you are not effected by this change either. You can still play casual with this ship as broken and OP as it ever was.  

Its a non-issue, but its never happened in the context of this game before so I guess it merits comment...?

Edited by Echoseven

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We can just assume that in favor of popular growth FFG has abandoned all their development philosophy and designing doctrine in favor of what is supposed to be better sales.:(

But yeah Jumpmaster now has 6 upgrade cards that now can no longer be used with the ship. The Business model that a model can use every card in the expansion is as dead as their policy to only use errata when necessary.<_<

But on the flip side now every expansion pack could have upgrades that does not have to be for the packaged model. So we could get an X-wing (T-65 only) title in an expansion that has no T-65 X-wings whatsoever.:)

Edited by Marinealver

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 hours ago, Echoseven said:

The whole logic behind this post implies that you would only ever own this one ship,  and because of the changes, now you cant use everything it comes with.

Technically you could never make use of ALL the cards in the package for the Jumpmaster 5000, if that was the 1 and only ship you owned. If you only owned 1 Jumpaster, what were you going to put mindlink on there for? And even if you did, what were you planning to do with that other copy of the card? Why did you need 2 copies of Guidance Chips? Unless of course, you were planning to actually buy more ships than just this one.  And if the plan was to buy more than 1 Jumpmaster, 5 of the upgrades become useless in at least one of your purchases because they are unique cards and you can only ever field one of them anyway. 

If you were going to buy other ships besides the Jumpmaster, whats the problem?

If you were not planning to use the ship for competitive play, then you are not effected by this change either. You can still play casual with this ship as broken and OP as it ever was.  

Its a non-issue, but its never happened in the context of this game before so I guess it merits comment...?

It's more of a case of the ship box you are holding in your hands can use all the cards included in it - not, maybe, all at once - but it can equip them.

Now it can't.

That's new, for X-Wing anyway, and a bad precedent.

(And, seriously, easily fixed - just errata those slots back onto the title, as was rumored with the FAQ leak)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...