Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Tvayumat

New FAQ released

Recommended Posts

New FAQ out!

Looks like we finally sorted out the rear/side flank threat discrepancy, added in some condition rules, and clarified the Damage Pool.

Also clarified that Maro CANNOT add trays to lengthen a single rank unit, and Trumpets cannot affect the [turning charge] or [wheel charge] modifier (interesting).


https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/f8/31/f8311d59-d01c-492e-b475-1098cc98ed5a/rwm_faq_v110.pdf

Edited by Tvayumat

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

looks more like universal view on the new rules rather than an actual faq

Except Overgrowth. Far as im aware it didnt work that way already (highest overgrowth, they arent cumulative). Bit of a whack to elves, im guessing they saw overgrowth spam to be a problem?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Vineheart01 said:

 

Except Overgrowth. Far as im aware it didnt work that way already (highest overgrowth, they arent cumulative). Bit of a whack to elves, im guessing they saw overgrowth spam to be a problem?

I'm pretty sure the rule text hasn't changed from the Latari expansion.

It's always been highest value only, non cumulative.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, flightmaster101 said:

Did this change close quarters targeting?

It actually "fixed" it.

Before, the text read "You can target enemies engaged with you."

Which, technically... doesn't work. If you are engaged, the [Ranged Attack] action is cancelled, so it doesn't matter if you can target the unit engaging you or not.

Intent was clear, wording was wonky.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Tvayumat said:

It actually "fixed" it.

Before, the text read "You can target enemies engaged with you."

Which, technically... doesn't work. If you are engaged, the [Ranged Attack] action is cancelled, so it doesn't matter if you can target the unit engaging you or not.

Intent was clear, wording was wonky.

So you can still only target the unit that engaged you?  Or anyone eligible as a normal ranged attack?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, flightmaster101 said:

So you can still only target the unit that engaged you?  Or anyone eligible as a normal ranged attack?

New text is: "You can perform this [Ranged Attack] while engaged."

So, you can target anyone, so long as you meet all the regular requirements to perform a ranged attack (LoS, range).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Do note though that unless you have a wider front rank than the guy in your face (or youre shifted to the side/being flanked) you still cant perform the attack on another unit.
If say both your unit and the unit engaged with you are perfectly lined up and have equal trays, you are considered to have no LOS to anyone else (even though theres a tiny bit that should).

Its the Line of Sight Q/A in the new faq.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 minutes ago, Tvayumat said:

New text is: "You can perform this [Ranged Attack] while engaged."

So, you can target anyone, so long as you meet all the regular requirements to perform a ranged attack (LoS, range).

Good that’s how I read it.  Wanted to make sure someone else saw what I did.  Also, Runecasters video 1 vindication!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, Vineheart01 said:

Do note though that unless you have a wider front rank than the guy in your face (or youre shifted to the side/being flanked) you still cant perform the attack on another unit.
If say both your unit and the unit engaged with you are perfectly lined up and have equal trays, you are considered to have no LOS to anyone else (even though theres a tiny bit that should).

Its the Line of Sight Q/A in the new faq.

Unless you have Heartseeker, or some other LoS shenanigan-ry.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm confused about Exposed. From page 2: 

  • The bullet for Exposed should read: “Exposed: When a unit measures line of sight, it ignores this terrain if it is not measuring line of sight to this terrain.”

Seems clear, you can measure line of sight through terrain with the exposed trait. But then on page 7:

  • Q: If a unit is occupying terrain with the Exposed keyword, is line of sight ignored when measuring line of sight to that unit for a ranged attack (?)? In other words, can that unit be targeted with a ??
    A: Yes. See the errata section “Terrain Keywords” on page 7.

I can't see why you would ignore line of sight to the unit in exposed terrain. The keyword only affects the terrain itself, and only when you're not measuring line of sight to it, so it should have no bearing on other features that block line of sight.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
40 minutes ago, Click5 said:

No clarifications on Lingering Dead/Maro interaction though :(

I was hoping for clarification to if adding the tray itself was required to add figures to a unit.  IMO since the necromancer can fill empty slots with figures, Maro should be able to as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, darkjawa103 said:

Page 7 shows a few pics. They helped me understand the wording.

indeed, they done good with pictures.  Effectively it is 'threat is equal to the biggest rank you are actually touching' So if you are only touching a short rank, the short rank is the threat. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think this help clarify Maro & Lingering Dead right?  You just add trays to the back rank.  When the round ends, you remove the trays, and fill from the backside?  I guess that last part isn't explicitly said anywhere, but it would follow suit for how you handle siege figure upgrades being removed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Darthain said:

indeed, they done good with pictures.  Effectively it is 'threat is equal to the biggest rank you are actually touching' So if you are only touching a short rank, the short rank is the threat. 

For side edges, it's the number of ranks, not the number of trays in those ranks, that counts.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, Bhelliom said:

 

  • Q: If a unit is occupying terrain with the Exposed keyword, is line of sight ignored when measuring line of sight to that unit for a ranged attack (?)? In other words, can that unit be targeted with a ??
    A: Yes. See the errata section “Terrain Keywords” on page 7.

Their answer should be, "Yes, a unit in Exposed terrain can be targeted by a ranged attack." The answer to the first part of the question should be, "No, you do not ignore line of sight to a unit in Exposed terrain when measuring for a ranged attack." It got confusing because they condensed their answer too much.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...