Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Ceahorse

Movement points

5 posts in this topic

Been reading the CRRG, great work Sagnit, and the section on movement had created a question. 

Considering the big mobs. A rat swarm can add one movement point if and only if he uses two movement actions. Because between the movement actions it gets to shrink down and grown back once. It cannot shrink and grow between spending each movement point. This seems obvious, but it makes me question the heroes use of fatigue to gain movement points. Based on this logic, a hero can only spend movement points with a movement action. So the fatigue can't be used to move a single space. Ie. If the heroes only need 1 movement point to gain range, it cannot suffer fatigue to move into range and than attack 2 times. Is this correct?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good recent thread on this here:

 

 

As I understand it, using a "move action" functionally just gives you movement points equal to your speed. There's some question as to when you can spend those points, but you don't need to be using a move action. Theoretically you could fatigue move + rest instead of using a move action at all, but it'd have different play consequences.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 hours ago, Ceahorse said:

 If the heroes only need 1 movement point to gain range, it cannot suffer fatigue to move into range and than attack 2 times. Is this correct?

Heroes do not need to perform a move action to gain or use movement points from other sources such as suffering fatigue. Here is the corresponding bit from the rule book, page 8.

Quote

A hero player is not required to perform a move action in order to suffer fatigue to move. During his turn, before or after resolving an action or during a move action, a hero may suffer fatigue 
to gain movement points. 

 

Edited by Sadgit

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So it seems my question is more about whether a monster can treat movement points the same, and spend them as they please, and being a large mob "leapfrog" along thus vastly increasing their movement range. Or simply mobs and heroes don't have the same rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
25 minutes ago, Ceahorse said:

So it seems my question is more about whether a monster can treat movement points the same, and spend them as they please, and being a large mob "leapfrog" along thus vastly increasing their movement range. Or simply mobs and heroes don't have the same rules.

What specifically are you wondering if monsters can do? They don't have fatigue. Spend movement points one at a time? Sure. But large monsters (those taking up more than one space) are prohibited from expanding from their shrunken form without a valid reason:

-performing an action that interrupts their movement

-being forcibly interrupted

-spending their last MP

So, a 2x2 monster can get 1"free" space out 9f a full move action, or potentially 2 spaces if it interrupts in the middle for an attack or something.

Edited by Zaltyre

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0