Theokritos777

L5R rules question

4 posts in this topic

Hi everyone new to the game. I had a couple of ruling questions. 1.) can you activate action from characters that are still in provinces? 2.) Would someone be able to clarify how characters from conflict decks can be played during conflicts. Do I have to summon them before I declare attackers and add them to the conflict or can it be after as well. Also, can you add fate on them when they come out during this. Thank you for helping!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I’m pretty new but my understanding is:

1) Generally no but there could be some specific ones which say you can.

2) You can play characters from your hand in action windows before conflicts but you can also add them into the conflict after it starts. And you can add fate when you pay to play them, but not if they are ‘brought into play’ by an effect.

I think! 

JJ48 likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1.) can you activate action from characters that are still in provinces? By default, no, you can't use card abilities from cards that are 'out of play'; and characters on provinces are considered out of play.  There may be some cards that have abilities that work while out of play, for example 'Guidance of the Ancestors' is an attachment that can be played from your 'out of play' discard pile, but something like this would be written on the card.

2.) Would someone be able to clarify how characters from conflict decks can be played during conflicts. Characters in your hand that were drawn from the conflict deck can be played in any action window with the exception that they can't be played in the Dynasty phase.  During a conflict, the defender has first opportunity to do an action, and actions go back and forth until each player passes consecutively - playing a character from your hand would count as one action.  You pay their fate cost.

Do I have to summon them before I declare attackers and add them to the conflict or can it be after as well. Characters played from your hand can be played at home or directly into the conflict (you must state where you are playing it to).

Also, can you add fate on them when they come out during this. Yes, you can add fate to them when you play them. If you use an ability to 'put into play' a character, you would not get the opportunity to place fate on them as if you had 'played' them.

shosuko likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Regarding summoning them during a conflict, if a conflict deck character is the only attacker you want, you will need them in play first in order to declare the conflict. You cannot declare a conflict with no participants (even if you have a character you want to play into the conflict from your hand). Fortunately, before each conflict there is an action window for you to play character cards, so it usually isn't a problem. Simply play the character before conflicts, then declare.

But yes, you can play them directly into a conflict, after it's started. You just need some other character to start the conflict first.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now