Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
player1331888

K2SO + Destiny event

8 posts in this topic


K2SO + Destiny Event
I’m having some troubles playing K-2SO.

Is "Destiny" event enabling me to play a lightsaber (witch costs 3) in k2 for a combined value of 3 in my dice?

while the lightsaber is in my hand it costs 3 and when I want to play it in k2 it costs 5, but according with destiny card I can play it for free...

Really stuck here, and kind of important in order to play this character or not...

Any suggestions or ideas?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There were questions a good while ago like this with how Destiny and overwriting interact, the ruling from Lukas was that you play Destiny to remove dice whose combined value is equal to or greater than the modified cost of an upgrade. So if I want to replace a Lightsaber with Master Of The Council using destiny I just need to remove a single blue die showing a value of 1 to satisfy the cost.

I think that logic would unfortunately also apply to K-2SO, the cost of playing a weapon on him would be increased and you would have to meet or exceed that newly modified cost with your dice. I'd love to be wrong though, he needs a few more tools.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, SwagonBallZ said:

There were questions a good while ago like this with how Destiny and overwriting interact, the ruling from Lukas was that you play Destiny to remove dice whose combined value is equal to or greater than the modified cost of an upgrade. So if I want to replace a Lightsaber with Master Of The Council using destiny I just need to remove a single blue die showing a value of 1 to satisfy the cost.

I think that logic would unfortunately also apply to K-2SO, the cost of playing a weapon on him would be increased and you would have to meet or exceed that newly modified cost with your dice. I'd love to be wrong though, he needs a few more tools.

 

The is difference is in wording : overring and K2 modifies cost to play, while Destiny speaks about cost of the card. If Lucas ruled otherwise, then good riddance to him and im glad hes gone cause he then either has no idea how his own game works or commands most sloppy design team ever and could not meet some wording standards...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, Vitalis said:

The is difference is in wording : overring and K2 modifies cost to play, while Destiny speaks about cost of the card. If Lucas ruled otherwise, then good riddance to him and im glad hes gone cause he then either has no idea how his own game works or commands most sloppy design team ever and could not meet some wording standards...

The Destiny card is (not clearly) referring to a cards "effective cost" which is its modified cost. From what I can tell it's identical to how you'd normally pay for/play an upgrade, but swapping blue dice values for resources.

I wouldn't mind a very clear distinction between "printed cost' and "effective cost" going forward, we'll see if it all improves

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Quote

The Destiny card is (not clearly) referring to a cards "effective cost" which is its modified cost. From what I can tell it's identical to how you'd normally pay for/play an upgrade, but swapping blue dice values for resources

I think the text “play from your hand” may be important here as well, (as the text “for free“) as while it’s in your hand it costs 3. 

We need some real clarifications, i’ve also been told that I should play the lightsaber using destiny, but paying 2 resources when putting in k-2so

how do we get an official answer?

Edited by player1331888
Quoting

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Cost to "play" it on K-2SO is increased by two, Destiny let's you "play" the card,  so removing two more dice value makes perfect sense to me, although I agree the wording could be better.

Regardless, we'll see this in the next FAQ probably and until then a ruling by Lukas is the best we got (even though I'm not sure I've seen the actual ruling from him, only hearsay)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It’s the only way I found to understand it that way. This timing in the actions. Reading the destiny card :

 

“remove dice” I got 3 

“play” I then I need 5, so I can’t play. End of story.

 

but the key for me is the text not saying play, but says “play for free”. Otherwise I’d expect something like “remove dice (...) to play  a card decreasing the value (...)” something like “Rearm” event. And what’s the point of writing “from your hand” then?. It’s obvious it’s from the hand!

anyway, I wouldn’t put any money in any option and I could live with it xD. But i’d Love to have an final behavior .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0