Jump to content
Kakita Onimaru

Iaijutsu seems pointless

Recommended Posts

17 hours ago, Exarkfr said:

Rising Blade can do a crit, but does damage based on damage and without extra successes.

It requires a minimum of one damage to get through. A Damage 5 Katana can penetrate Lacquered Armor (Physical Resist 4) while an ordinary Katana cannot.

Edited by Ultimatecalibur

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, Ultimatecalibur said:

It requires a minimum of one damage to get through. A Damage 5 Katana can penetrate Lacquered Armor (Physical Resist 4) while an ordinary Katana cannot.

Oh, you are talking about modified weapons ?
I thought you were talking about using Deadliness (5) instead of Damage (4), which would not be on the same Iaijutsu technique as the one that can do a crit.

If you start using an improved katana, though, be careful that your opponent is not wearing an improved armour.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The update improves some things and gives some options between the two versions, but...

I still don't get the Opportunity boosts. Drawing and readying an extra weapon? That  is  only going to help the  odd Mirumoto, and even he  might  prefer to keep it sheathed to do a second  iai in the  next turn.

I get the feeling they are sort of running  out of  ideas  on OPP improvements. "This  is too strong, this is already some  oter  kata's  bonus...eh, draw another sword, that's good."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 29/10/2017 at 11:10 PM, Sephyr79 said:

The update improves some things and gives some options between the two versions, but...

I still don't get the Opportunity boosts. Drawing and readying an extra weapon? That  is  only going to help the  odd Mirumoto, and even he  might  prefer to keep it sheathed to do a second  iai in the  next turn.

I get the feeling they are sort of running  out of  ideas  on OPP improvements. "This  is too strong, this is already some  oter  kata's  bonus...eh, draw another sword, that's good."

He can draw at the beggining of the stance, use iai on the second blade, and now he have both weapons ready without using opportunity.

But since japanese blade is made of paper and cant parry, beats me why the Mirumoto would use two weapons.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Mobiusllls said:

He can draw at the beggining of the stance, use iai on the second blade, and now he have both weapons ready without using opportunity.

But since japanese blade is made of paper and cant parry, beats me why the Mirumoto would use two weapons.

The Mirumoto whose school is not in the beta? I can think of a few potential reasons.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Exarkfr said:

Not anymore.
Update removed free drawing/sheathing upon setting stance.

I found the wording weird so i'm not 100% sure, if thats it. (The grip part confuses me.) But in any case, in water stance you wont lose a turn, and you can do what i said.

I would guess that the  Mirumoto School will end up giving Earth and Water (Mirumoto family, Mirumoto Bushi, will Start with water 3 earth 2 fire 2 before choosing any ring to increase. Which would help up them to dual wield as fast as possible using a good ring from their character.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, Mobiusllls said:

I found the wording weird so i'm not 100% sure, if thats it. (The grip part confuses me.) But in any case, in water stance you wont lose a turn, and you can do what i said.

Changing the grip is not new to update 1.0.
It was already in the rulebook.
Only the "ready or stow one item or weapon" part has been removed.

Plus, with the definition of Grip on p143 barely leaves any doubt that it means choosing between the 1-handed and 2-handed lines of a weapon's stats. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...