Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
The_Mentiad

Gate disappears from under me!

Recommended Posts

 I apologise if this is in the Faq but i can't see it...

I played today and while in the other world drew a card that closed the gate through which I came... as it happened I got lost in time and space the next turn so I was not destined to come back through that portal but I am wondering what happens if the gate disappears like this from under you... do you come out at another gate? Or...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

DoctorDR said:

 I apologise if this is in the Faq but i can't see it...

I played today and while in the other world drew a card that closed the gate through which I came... as it happened I got lost in time and space the next turn so I was not destined to come back through that portal but I am wondering what happens if the gate disappears like this from under you... do you come out at another gate? Or...

I believe if an investigator has no gate to exit from they are LITAS instead.  It's been a *really* long time since this has come up in a game, but I think it's buried in a manual as a throwaway line (I think).  Anyone have a citation?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From the AH rulebook, pag8:

"If there is no open gate leading to the Other World the investigator is in, the investigator is lost in time and space"

So, when you've already had a 2nd area OW encounter and on the following round movement phase you have to return to Arkham, you go LiTaS

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't think I understand the premise. I am familiar with the encounter, which closes the gate through which you entered the Other World. Unless you wound up in the Other World via some strange Arkham Encounter or Mythos effect (or if another investigator closed that very gate), and not actually through a gate, then you should simply claim the gate token that you entered the OW through and that's that. The encounter also can send you to LiTaS if you fail a check, but that is irrelevant to how you entered the OW in the first place, and as such you should still close the gate and claim the trophy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 OK! So I should have claimed the gate token?! I though because (if my memory serves me) it was an other world card that that was the OW kicking my butt. I have found it sensible to err in the game's favour when unsure.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...