Sign in to follow this  
SgtWaka

If spells were not there.

I 'd like to keep this game as simple as possible. Old, slow mind, love board games, but used to drink alot and killed alot of brain cells back in the 80's, you get the idea. If this game didn't have the spells, it seams to me it would be easier to play, but i'm new to this game and i don't have the expansions so i'm just wondering if anyone has used this game , without the spells, and maybe added more common items, or am i just trying to make it harder in doing that.

Maybe i just need to play it more ,...as it is.  ADVICE TO THE SINGLE CELLED  BRAIN BOY>...please and thanks...Dave W..A.K.A...The Sarge.

Personally I feel that if you can handle everything else going on in Arkham Horror,   spells shouldn't be that much of a jump...  you ought to be able to get the hang of them,   they're not really all that confusing.

But...  if you would still prefer not to,  it's certainly possible.   Just restrict yourself to playing non-spell characters,   there are plenty of characters who aren't much for magic but are great at other things.  Let somebody else play a spellcaster.    Heck,   you don't even have to have one,  we've  been through plenty of games with nobody with a lore above 3-4 and no spells between us.  It would be easy to take out all the characters who you think are "magic-y"  and put them in one pile,  and just draw randomly from the other pile. 

If you desperately wanted to play someone like Harvey Walters without spells  (though I'm not exactly sure why you would),   I suppose you could house-rule that you simply will trade their starting spells for an equal number of unique items.    I believe  this keeps their starting equipment at roughly equal level.  Personally I'd advise against this route,  and just go with the "pick a character that doesn't have to worry about spells"  thing,  but I though I'd mention it if you really wanted to.