ovinomanc3r

Noob questions.

40 posts in this topic

Yes. I am so noob. 

Can I add progress tokens to locations revealed from the encounter deck during the same phase?

I am not sure how after commit to a quest actually works.

My guess:

1. Commit characters. 

2. Resolve after commit effects in the order is wish. 

3. Reveal the encounter cards. 

4. Sum, compare and all that.

 

But I also see the point 2 as the 4 possible. 

EDIT: title changed to focus my beginning doubts. 

Edited by ovinomanc3r

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Turn Sequence, pg. 30

3. Quest Phase

A. Commit characters to a quest.

B. Reveal encounter cards.

B.1. Action window

C. Resolve questing.

C.1 Action window.

 

The way the Quest Phase is structured, you may use the action on Northern Tracker in the 3.B.1. Action window once all encounter cards have been revealed to add progress to all locations in the staging area, even ones that came out this turn. You would not have had the same effect if you done it in step 3.A.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, Kakita Shiro said:

Turn Sequence, pg. 30

3. Quest Phase

A. Commit characters to a quest.

B. Reveal encounter cards.

B.1. Action window

C. Resolve questing.

C.1 Action window.

 

The way the Quest Phase is structured, you may use the action on Northern Tracker in the 3.B.1. Action window once all encounter cards have been revealed to add progress to all locations in the staging area, even ones that came out this turn. You would not have had the same effect if you done it in step 3.A.

Actually, Northern Tracker doesn't have an action. It's a response, which limits it to 3.A

If it were an action, then your analysis would be correct.

@ovinomanc3r, Actions can be used in any action window (in the back of the rulebook - any of the green phases). Responses can only be used when their trigger is met - which can be in any phase, red or green. In the case of Northern tracker, the trigger is "When you commit Northern Tracker to the quest."

So, you commit it to a quest, add a progress token to every location in the staging area, and then reveal cards, just like you said.

Edited by Onidsen
ovinomanc3r likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Onidsen said:

Actually, Northern Tracker doesn't have an action. It's a response, which limits it to 3.A

If it were an action, then your analysis would be correct.

Oh darn. I haven't played with it in so long I've forgotten what it does.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Onidsen said:

Actually, Northern Tracker doesn't have an action. It's a response, which limits it to 3.A

If it were an action, then your analysis would be correct.

@ovinomanc3r, Actions can be used in any action window (in the back of the rulebook - any of the green phases). Responses can only be used when their trigger is met - which can be in any phase, red or green. In the case of Northern tracker, the trigger is "When you commit Northern Tracker to the quest."

Actually it says AFTER but not a big deal. The trigger would go after A so before B.

Thanks. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, ovinomanc3r said:

Actually it says AFTER but not a big deal. The trigger would go after A so before B.

Thanks. 

Oops :P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Onidsen said:

Oops :P

Another one:

Characters committed to a quest are considered committed to that quest through the end of the quest phase, unless removed from the quest by a card effect. They do remain exhausted once this step is complete

 

From this I am not sure if Aragorn sum against the threat when committing to a quest even if I ready him with his skill.

And if a character dies through the progress (by an effect from the encounter deck)? That character sums to the total?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
25 minutes ago, ovinomanc3r said:

Another one:

Characters committed to a quest are considered committed to that quest through the end of the quest phase, unless removed from the quest by a card effect. They do remain exhausted once this step is complete

 

From this I am not sure if Aragorn sum against the threat when committing to a quest even if I ready him with his skill.

And if a character dies through the progress (by an effect from the encounter deck)? That character sums to the total?

Characters can ready and still be committed to the quest. If Aragorn uses his ability,  you still count his willpower.

If a character dies in the middle of questing,  then you lose their willpower

ovinomanc3r likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is the effect of being killed immediate?

There is an action step after each step of the combat phase. I reveal the shadow effect which deals 1 damage to every character. One of those character would die but I can heal her with an action effect. However I don't know if that damage is checked during the last step of the combat phase or inmediately.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There's an action window between revealing the shadow and resolving the damage from the attack, so (for example) if the shadow increased the attack you could heal the defender before the damage from the attack is resolved.  But if the shadow deals direct damage (like this case), there is no action window prior to applying that damage.  The only way to save your character would be with a shadow-cancelling response.

ovinomanc3r likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks!

 

Another one:

Does the game end inmediately when you accomplish the last quest card requirements?

I understood that yes but scoring I was not sure if the last round should be counted or not as I ended during the mission phase.

Not a big deal but I like to use the scoring system to check the performance of the deck. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The game is ended immediately.  I would think you would count the final round since you played part of it, but I will defer to people who actually use the scoring system.  I consider the scoring system entirely pointless and useless.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It only count rounds completed. I use to count points years ago, but it is not very efficient to compare deck efficiency.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, Rouxxor said:

It only count rounds completed. I use to count points years ago, but it is not very efficient to compare deck efficiency.

I just noticed it. Only three games so not too much to compare but 1st 67, 2nd 159, 3rd 102.

Same deck, same quest, not many problems during any game, just more or less time to draw some cards. It seemed a big difference for just some lucky draws.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The good path to win this one is to stay as long as needed on stage one and pass the stage two on only one turn. Otherwise there is to many cards revealed and to many enemies engaged against you on the same time.

The best is to be able to keep a threat under 30 when you pass on stage 3. If you do so it is pretty hard to loose :).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One quick question:

Can I use Steward of Gondor to play cards during the same planning phase I played Steward of Gondor?

At the beginning I did it that way (caming from MTG it was normal). Then I realizad player actions came after playing cards but I saw in a video someone who used the steward to play more cards during the same phase.

Is it

1. Play cards

2. Play actions 

(As I understood)

Or 

1. Play cards and actions in any order. 

?

Edited by ovinomanc3r

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

During organization everyone can play action at any time (except at the middle of the resolution of a card obviously). So even between allies and attachment of a partner.

ovinomanc3r likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You're not the only one to have had this doubt. In the last pages of the Core Set Rulebook you can see that  in the turn sequence of the planning phase players are free to take actions ( pag.30). In multiplayer the only limitation is that the active player is the only one who can play allies or attachments, once has passed the player on the left becomes the active player and it is now too late for the previous active player to play allies or attachments, but action windows are still open for all.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Escape from Do Guldur won during my first attempt. It was hard. We had to deal with two spider web and we lost Gimly and Theodred at the end moving to the third stage at 49 both players but with the Nazgul dead. Galadrim and a lucky Gandalf to turbo-quest and over saturate the stage even with an active location. Iluvatar blessed Faramir and Celebrian-Eowyn. Woohoo! 

MVP: Gimly who took the key since the beginning to boost himself and send the Nazgul back to where it belongs with the help of Gandalf. 

Moradir and Onidsen like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now