Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Benracu

Rulings quesion

Recommended Posts

New to the game 

if a card says to turn a die to a die showing damage. Both melee and range is an option I know, but can you change said die to a side showing modified damage? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes.  There are 4 parts to a die face - Symbol, Value, Modifier, and Resource Cost.  Anything that affects or targets one doesn't care about any of the others.  So changing to a damage side lets you change to a modified or cost side of any value as long as the symbol is right.

And just because I know someone will say it - by "doesn't care" I mean that the effect doesn't touch them, not that the other things go away.  So if something tells you to resolve a die showing ranged damage the only constraint is that ranged damage, but the rest of the rules for resolving (such as not being able to resolve modified sides alone) still apply.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeap anything showing sword or gun is a side "showing damage". Anything else (discard, distrupt, shield, focus, special, blank) are non damage sides. If that is blue side, payed side or anything else does not matter.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also worth noting as it relates to 'turn' - you can't turn a die to the side it currently is showing.  If a die had 1 range side and 5 blanks and it was already showing the 1 range side you couldn't play a card that required a die to turn.  If the die had 1 range, 1 range and 4 blanks and it was already showing 1 range side you COULD play a card that required a die to turn because you would be able to 'turn' the die to the other 1 range side.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

thanks for the replies. i was also looking at a card that has guardian keyword. can you choose a modified dice from your opponent? and does it deal damage?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, Benracu said:

thanks for the replies. i was also looking at a card that has guardian keyword. can you choose a modified dice from your opponent? and does it deal damage?

 

Yup, it does damage, because you don't "resolve" the dice, you just look at the number (As long as it is melee or ranged), remove it and receive damage equal to the number.

Chak

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×