JJ48

Seeking Advice from Veteran Fliers

I just started playing recently, and of my first four games, three have involved YTs.  I haven't minded too much, since my focus has been primarily on learning how to move my ships without crashing into too many asteroids, but it occurs to me that eventually I'm going to have to learn how to deal with these guys.

In the computer games, such craft could be easily decimated with a couple torpedoes, but so far ordnance in the miniatures game doesn't seem too impressive as far as straight damage is concerned.  So, how do people here usually deal with them?  Do you have heavy-hitters rolling a ton of red dice?  Do you just swarm them with so many attacks that eventually they run out of tokens?  Do you just try to keep them ion-ed so that they run off the edge?  Do you fly a freighter yourself to give them a taste of their own medicine? 

I'm interested to hear any suggestions the aces here might have!

Don't know what all you have, but....

1. Ordnance is pretty good these days. Guidance chips as a mod really helps push through damage. Especially on low agility ships like the YT

2. Swarming YTs works to some degree, though harder to do against Rey.

The biggest thing is to focus fire on them, hard.

Edit: I assumed you were talking about 1300s.

The Dash/2400 model, if run like most, has a range 1 donut hole it can't shoot inside of. Hug the ship tight and work it's health down uncontested 

Edited by ScummyRebel

3 minutes ago, hawk32 said:

Are you running into falcons or dash?

I have a poor memory, so I don't remember all the lists, but I think I've encountered both.  The last two times were definitely Dash, though.

1 minute ago, ScummyRebel said:

Don't know what all you have, but....

1. Ordnance is pretty good these days. Guidance chips as a mod really helps push through damage. Especially on low agility ships like the YT

2. Swarming YTs works to some degree, though harder to do against Rey.