Hawkstrike

Comparison to other tabletop minis wargames

60 posts in this topic

So, considering Legion ...

Theme aside, how do you think the gameplay and mechanics will compare to other tabletop miniatures wargames?

I have no experience with other tabletop minis games except for FFG's Star Wars games; my wargaming background goes back to when wargames were all hex maps and cardboard chits. But interest in Legion has me looking at other games too, but with no baseline for comparison I'm wondering what makes for a good experience.

The games I'm seeing that are most popular seem to be Warhammer 40K, Warmachine-Hordes, Malifaux, Infiniti, Bolt Action, Flames of War / Team Yankee, and maybe Runewars. Can anyone with experience explain how the other games might compare to Legion?

I played 40k 5-7th Ed. And Legion seems reasonably close.

Not really sure what you want to know.

Legion basic gameplay appears to be roughly the same, perhaps a little easier and faster. The hobby aspect (painting and modeling the minis and terrain) is identical, though with slightly less variation (Space Marines can be any color, Imperial Stormtrooper armor is pretty standard in paint jobs). Community seems solid considering the game isn't even out yet...

Wargames like this are pretty open, so there's going to be a baseline play series, and the ability to manipulate modes, options, and other details to create specific scenarios and such should you want to try specific challenges or narratives.

40k has been around for decades, and it's company has made some.... interesting choices, so it's hard to compare on that level. On the one hand legions rules may not be as tight, as it's a newer game and FFG tends to be more a "do what's fun for you" kinda operation when things get weird. On the other hand they also don't have the baggage and business oriented mulehattedness that GW is well known for ("Shut up nerd! Buy more stuff and shut up!")