Seguleh

3 little questions (force actions, career skills, cross system careers)

8 posts in this topic

Hi i have 2 realy small questions but couldnt find a solution by my self, and a third not so small.

 

1. When i learn a new specialisation from a different career, i get new career skills, but just the 4 of the specialisation as far as i know. But where in the rulebook is this defined clearly, i can t find a proper statement.

 

2. Is it an action to commit forcedice? For example in the sense-ability where u can upgrade the difficulty of attacks of your opponent.

 

3. Do you allow careers/specs from the other 2 systems? For example for your forcesensitive dude from your eote campaign to learn a f&d specialisation when it fits in the campaig?

 

As always, thx guys for ur answers!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1. Not sure which rulebook you are looking at, but F&D has it on page 103, second paragraph under Acquiring New Specializations "Also, each specialization has four additional career skills. These skills now count as career skills for the character.

2. Am looking for it. Edit, not found anything definitive, but commiting force dice usually relates to a force power, and pg 282 Force and Destiny Core states "In any case, unless the power's description specifically states otherwise, using the power requires one action in structured time".

3. It is allowed. pg 338 Force and Destiny Core "Cross-game line compatibility". Am struggling to find the rules at present, but the only wrinkle is you can only use Force powers if you have Force Rating 1, including +1 Force Rating, so you need to either start with an F&D Career (as you get 1 Force Rating from Career not Specialization, or from Force Emergent/Exile) - Edit, that is on pg 279 FOrce and Destiny Core.

Edited by Darzil
Seguleh likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On 2, also, first post here (under The Force, Sense Force Power) : "Each ongoing effect requires an Action to activate (and you'd need the Force Rating to activate both as well)."

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1. Darzil got it. 

2. Since it is an action to activate a Force Power unless otherwise stated, committing Force Dice to an ongoing effect is activating a power, then yes. However, Force powers aren't the only means if committing Force dice, and there are talents that allow you to commit Force dice to certain effects for less than an action.

3. The three games form one system; they are not separate systems. You are able to purchase specializations from each game line without even referencing the "Cross-Game Line Compatibility" rules in the GM chapter. It just works. You always keep your  same career, and every specialization outside your career costs an extra 10 XP to purchase. It's really quite easy; you can simply treat the FaD books as a "player supplement" to EotE if you wanted to.

The only thing you'll need those cross-compatibility rules for is how to handle Mortality vs Duty vs Obligation, the jist of the rules is that it's up to the GM  how much a group mixes and matches those core character elements.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thx a lot guys that realy helped me. Is there also a good text in the eote crb about the career skills? In my (german) book i just found a part where it says “usually you get one or two new career skills“ which is as helpfull as a bag of racoons

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, that paragraph isn't as good in Edge. "In addition, each specialization has career skills. These skills now count as career skills for the character."

Or in Age. "In addition, each specialization has it's own career skills. These skills now count as career skills for the PC."

 

awayputurwpn likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now